使用Adjust监测在中国的广告推广

关键字

Adjust作为首个国际监测平台,现在可以支持中国本地监测。

这意味着您可以对在中国的推广活动直接使用Adjust SDK和跟踪链接,无需创建额外的中文应用,也没有强制的服务器端集成,在Adjust平台上即可直接监测中国推广。

我们依托与本地合作伙伴共同创建的创新型基础架构来实现在中国的本地监测。来自中国的Web流量将通过一个稳定可靠的中介直接路由到我们在西欧的主数据中心。


让全球营销商们徘徊不前的巨大市场

中国是一个拥有巨大潜力市场的国家。中国目前有6亿智能手机用户,市场预计每年将增长约5000万用户。

该数字离市场饱和还相差甚远。6亿用户,也就是说目前只有45%的中国人口在使用智能手机。按当前发展速度,中国市场将至少持续增长30年才能接近饱和水平。

可是全球营销商们面对如此巨大的市场却裹足不前。

借助我们的应用商店分析工具—apptrace,即可一见分晓。在中国应用商店排名前300的iOS应用中,只有20%在美国上榜。相比而言,其他国家市场则表现出很高的相关性,很多应用在全球多个市场均榜上有名。


为什么对中国市场说不?

为了找到原因,我们向全球超过1500家移动营销商们提了一个简单的问题:“您是否在中国进行用户获取活动?”

约一半的反馈意见是对该市场不感兴趣——不适合做生意,对于很多专注于一到两个“本土市场”的电子商务商们,基于对应用本土运行效果不佳的担忧,或对于大多数市场决策团队来说进入中国市场是一个需要深思熟虑的商业决定。来自营销商们的反馈并不让人感到意外。

然而针对那些有能力将移动业务扩张到中国的公司,令人惊讶的是约80%的受访者表示他们将尽可能地避免扩张业务到中国市场。大多数受访者均表示他们普遍面临的三个主要挑战是:本地化 (让人出乎意料)、提高中国用户的参与度(一直是每个移动营销商的主要挑战),以及将技术移植到中国的担忧。


阻碍在哪里?

一般而言,进出中国的网络流量经常会发生明显的网络延时、超时和堵塞的情况。中国巨大的防火墙造成的后果是跟踪链接需要等待数秒才能重定向,SDK包被丢失,最终导致监测准确度低和用户体验差。

我们因此作了一个基准测试,看看用户在点击广告后需要等待多久才能被定向到应用商店或登陆页面。测试表明点击广告的用户平均需要等待约三秒才能到达应用商店,甚至约15%的用户根本无法到达应用商店。

据我们所知,用户大都是缺乏耐心的。3秒的等待将会直接导致用户转化率下降。

中国的网络现状大大阻碍了国际监测平台在中国的发展。我们可以通过服务器端集成来解决防火墙问题,但是各种偏差和准确性问题依然存在。由于精准度和用户体验的限制,直到现在我们还不得不告诉用户暂时不要在中国使用Adjust。

此外,监测平台是很多营销商收集数据的中心。我们合作的大多数营销商都是通过监测平台来同步不同合作伙伴、BI平台、内部服务器等的数据。因此,如果监测平台可以在中国运行,则意味着您的其他堆栈也可以。


我们做了什么?

我们实现了经由中国境内的中介直接连接到Adjust的全球服务器——用户无需进行任何修改或特殊集成。

来自中国的上行数据将以和来自其他国家数据相同的方式被接收和分析。虽然我们不太喜欢用“奇迹”这个词来形容技术——这听起来好像有点不透明和神秘,但事实即是如此。


对于营销商们这意味着什么?

如果您正在使用Adjust,您现在可以立即面向中国的智能手机用户开展营销活动。我们与众多渠道合作伙伴的集成让您可以无缝连接到易点天下、腾讯或任何其他在中国的强大合作伙伴。此外,您的现有应用可在中国无缝运行——无需作任何修改。

扫一扫, 分享本文

关注adjust的公众号

Measure ad campaigns in China with Adjust

Topics

As the first international measurement platform, Adjust now supports native measurement in China.

This means that you can use the Adjust SDK and tracking URLs directly for campaigns inside China – no special Chinese app builds, no mandatory server-to-server integrations, just the entire Adjust platform measuring your Chinese campaigns.

The whole thing is enabled by a groundbreaking infrastructure setup that we’ve accomplished together with a local partner. Web traffic targeted at our domains from China will be routed through an intermediary which has a fixed and reliable connection directly to our main datacenters in Western Europe.

A huge market – that international marketers aren’t going for

It’s an understatement to say that China is a huge market. There are 600 million smartphone users in China, and the market’s projected to grow by almost 50 million people annually!

This is also nowhere near saturated. At 600 million, barely 45 % of the Chinese population use a smartphone. So these rapid growth rates could go on for 30 years before running out of Chinese people. I’m simplifying, but you get the idea.

But marketers from the rest of the world aren’t there.

Just look at our App Store analysis tools, apptrace, to get the idea. Among the top 300 iOS apps in the Chinese App Store, only 20 % also feature on US top lists – whereas most other markets display a high interdependence, with a large number of titles that take up positions in multiple markets across the world.

Why not?

To get a closer picture, we asked over 1,500 mobile marketers around the world a simple question: “Are you running User Acquisition in China?”

About half of the respondents got back to us and said it wasn’t an interesting market – impracticable to do business in, as for many ecommerce players that are tied to one or two “home markets”, utility apps that don’t port well, or otherwise mobile teams for whom the call to launch the new market is a bigger business question. Fair enough: I’d expect a similar result no matter which market I’d ask about.

But for those teams that could bring their mobile business to China, a staggering 80 % said they were held back from scaling their business in China as far as they wanted. Almost all of our respondents agreed on three main challenges: localization (quelle surprise), improving engagement among Chinese users (always a mobile marketers’ main challenge), and problems with porting their technology stack to China.

What’s the holdup?

Basically, web traffic going in and out of China is often associated with significant network delay, time-outs, and congestion. The Great Firewall means that tracker URLs could take many seconds to redirect, and packages from the SDK would be dropped – resulting in low accuracy as well as poor user experience (UX).

So we conducted a benchmark to see how long you’d have to wait after clicking an ad to be redirected to the App Store or a landing page. This showed that users clicking on ads would have to wait almost 3 seconds on average before reaching app stores, and around 15 % of users would never reach the app store at all.

As we know, users are impatient. A 3-second wait for an ad to redirect will result in exponentially lower conversion rates.

This hobbles the international measurement platforms in China. The Firewall could be worked around using server-to-server integrations, but these are associated with a different kind of bias and accuracy issues. Until now, we’ve had to tell clients not to use Adjust in China for the sake of accuracy and UX.

What’s worse, for many marketers, the measurement platform is the central place of data collection for their app. Most marketers we work with give their measurement platform the task of syncing data across to various partners, BI platforms, internal servers and so on. So if the measurement platform can operate in China, the rest of your stack will, too.

So what did we do?

We’ve made it possible to connect to Adjust’s servers internationally through a local intermediary inside China – without having to make any modifications or use any special integration.

The data from the Chinese uplink will be received and analyzed in the same way as data from other countries. I don’t like using the word “magic” to describe our technology – that makes it seem opaque and mysterious – but this one sort of is.

What does it mean for marketers?

If you’re using Adjust today, you can start marketing toward Chinese smartphone users today. Our numerous integrations with Chinese media partners allow you to connect seamlessly to YeahMobi, Tencent, or any of the other great partners with inventory in the great big country beyond. And your existing app build – with no modification – will work seamlessly inside China. 

Check out our infographic for more on the difficulties of attribution in China.