游戏

客户案例:DeNA

了解更多
资源 客户案例 客户案例:DeNA

DeNA 自 2006 年起为移动设备提供游戏产品,至今已在开发、运营和用户获取方面积累了大量宝贵的专业知识。如今,这个游戏巨头已推出众多不同类型的游戏。此外,DeNA 还与其他公司及开发者进行合作,将视野从内部开发 / 运营游戏拓展到更广的范围。

最近我们采访了在 DeNA 任职多年的广告数据环境的负责人深田裕一,希望了解 DeNA 为何选择 Adjust,如何管理数据,以及 DeNA 如何使用 Adjust 工具并收获最佳成果。

DeNA 为何选择 Adjust

在与 Adjust 合作之前,DeNA 的游戏部门通过自有游戏平台 Mobage SDK 以及另一家公司的 SDK 进行应用跟踪。后来,公司决定将推广活动拓展到海外,于是开始使用 Adjust SDK 来跟踪活动的表现。深田裕一回忆道,当时,DeNA 在全球范围内的许多代理商以及美国子公司已经在使用 Adjust,因而整个迁移过程非常顺利。

不同的 SDK 广告推广活动流程也不同。如果您正在运营多款应用,使用统一的 SDK 将让整个工作流程更加顺畅。在统一多个应用的 SDK 时,DeNA 起初遇到了一些困难,但当时已经禁止通过 Cookie 进行跟踪,因此 DeNA 将注意力放在了 Adjust 的跟踪数据上。

娱乐、体育和汽车等其他部门和分部常常会请深田裕一提供支持。"在为数字营销准备数据环境以及为推广活动建立基础架构时,使用统一的工具能让我们更轻松地为其他分部提供支持,对数据经理们来说也大有裨益。" 深田裕一说。

全团队共享最新数据

DeNA 会将 Adjust 发送的原始数据转发至自己的数据库,进行数据分析。数据分析团队会自动聚合最新数据,通过 BI 工具进行内部分享。

DeNA 的数据分析团队还会使用从 Adjust 以外的其他来源获得的数据。例如,他们会从代理商处收集成本数据,了解包括媒体支出和利润的预算使用总量,以接近实际支出的金额进行分析。

此外,DeNA 的国内和海外团队内有内部运营,外有代理商合作,可以独立决定效率最高的运营流程。当多个团队运营同一款应用时,DeNA 不需要每个团队提供精细度和准确度相同的数据集,而是使用从 Adjust 获得的数据,然后与各个部门分享处理过的数据。

素材分析流程

DeNA 广告数据分析中最有趣的地方,是他们为协助营销人员进行素材相关决策而制订的流程。深田裕一称,DeNA 创建的报告中既包含广告中用到的图片和视频,也有聚合数据,方便营销人员和创作者看到哪些素材表现出色,以及其出色的理由。

通过内部存储用于广告跟踪的 Adjust 提交链接以及分层数据,例如广告活动用的素材数据、渠道数据,以及广告跟踪推广活动,并在投放广告后利用 Adjust 提供的原始数据进行数据聚合,DeNA 就能轻松地准确找到带来广告效果等的素材。

素材分析流程中涉及多方面参与,不仅有营销人员和数据分析师,还有创作者以及负责数据提交的员工。要在大量不同的团队成员参与运作下保持数据的准确度,任何人是否都能简单操作这点非常重要。

借助 Adjust 的应用跟踪服务,客户只要在控制面板登录渠道数据的精细度,便能在文件表中生成跟踪链接,设置来自表格中的参数。DeNA 的数据分析流程之所以能做到精简高效,跟 Adjust 简约易用的功能是分不开的。

根据分析目的调整数据视图

深田裕一强调,在数据分析中,理解哪些 KPI 是推广活动监测的基础非常重要。设备、平台账户和游戏用户数量等概念有不同的定义,因此,根据时机和数据分析目的不同,主要 KPI 也会有所差异。在游戏用户方面,其中也包括了日本一种叫做 "リセマラ" 的概念,直译为 "重置马拉松",指的是一种游戏机制,玩家可以在达成一定进度后获得随机游戏角色奖励。如果获得的游戏角色不够强大,玩家常常会卸载重玩,直至获得满意的角色。

在跟踪类似 "重置马拉松" 的事件时,应当采用能保持归因准确性的 SDK,如 Adjust SDK,避免 "重置马拉松" 带来的安装被计为自然流量。如此一来,DeNA 便能独自聚合 Adjust 提供的会话数据,按照自己的定义重新判断安装和再归因情况。即使从比实际评估期限设定更长的归因窗口中获取数据,并使用在 Adjust 系统中设置的期限向媒体渠道发送回调,DeNA 也可通过数据聚合来调整内部用于广告效果评估的归因期限。

借助卸载与重装跟踪预测表现

选择 Adjust 跟踪应用卸载和重装,客户可鼓励卸载了应用的用户重新安装,提升用户的生命周期和 LTV。深田裕一说,自从 DeNA 采用该功能后,LTV 预测的准确性获得了显著提升。例如,观察重装应用的用户会看到其 CPI 表现出色,但只看未重装用户的话其 CPI 则比目标值来得差。根据这些跟踪数据,DeNA 能不断评估推广活动,对预算进行相应调整。

此外深田裕一还表示,借助卸载和重装跟踪,DeNA 还获得了非常有趣的观察,例如,通过用户返回游戏的方式,或许能预测 LTV。他的团队发现,"有时,重装后再归因的 LTV 比普通再归因更高"。

例如,在游玩一段时间后,用户离开了游戏,但重返游戏时又从头开始,而不是从离开时的进度继续游戏。从 DeNA 几款上市多年游戏的归因期间来看,用户不会像重置马拉松那样立刻重装,而是常常会在隔了一段时间后重新安装。

DeNA 的游戏广告推广活动一般选择游戏内活动期间进行,持续 1 至 2 周时间。开头的几天尤其重要,因此,DeNA 通常会尽早判断该如何计划预算。同时为了提高其准确性,DeNA 也会根据以往各个来源提供的 LTV 预测广告的效果。

DeNA 采用 Adjust 的安装和重装功能后,LTV 预测的准确性获得了显著提升。

DeNA Co., Ltd.

注重隐私的营销活动

在应用产业中,用户的隐私保护非常关键,其重要性在不断提升。为了应对这个发展趋势,DeNA 正不断探索在加强隐私保护的同时计划和拓展营销活动的方法。深田裕一解释道:"未来,组合精细度与含义都不尽相同的数据跨多渠道进行分析,比如 Adjust 平台和 SDK 提供的数据,将是我们要面对的挑战。我们需要能高效且便捷地集成两者的工具。"

在 Adjust 控制面板中,只有拥有管理员访问权限的特定用户才能访问原始数据。也就是说,任何其他用户都不可以从控制面板下载设备信息等内容。如果您的公司在考虑安装某款 SDK,我们强烈建议先评估应用跟踪工具的安全性和用户隐私保护能力,避免数据泄露。

Adjust 支持和未来展望

深田表示,他对 Adjust 支持团队提供的 "详细反馈非常满意"。"在安装阶段,如果能有简便的验证流程,让不了解 Adjust SDK 的用户也能处理,那么验证工作会容易得多。不过,针对这些技术问题,Adjust 能提供非常出色的支持,对客户大有助益。"

DeNA 当前在试用 Adjust 营销自动化解决方案 — "Automate" 。深田详细解释道,DeNA 当前的主要目标是提升效率和改善成果。他说:"我们当前的广告运营既有代理商在做,自己内部也在做。不论哪种做法,我们都希望能积极评估采用 Automate 等新功能,以提高整体流程效率。"

受到全球 50,000 多个应用的信赖

Gaming

Case Study - DeNA

Read more
Resources Case Studies Case Study - DeNA

Offering games for mobile devices since 2006, DeNA has since accumulated invaluable specialist know-how in development, operations and user acquisition. Today, the gaming giant boasts an impressive collection of games across a range of genres. They also work in collaboration with other companies and partner developers, extending their focus beyond internally developed/operated titles.

We recently interviewed Yuichi Fukada, who has been taking care of DeNA’s ad-data environment for years. We wanted to learn a bit about the reasons DeNA chose Adjust, how their data management works and what their best practices for working with Adjust’s tools are.

Why DeNA chose Adjust

Before working with Adjust, DeNA's games division tracked their apps through the Mobage SDK — their own gaming platform — along with the SDK of another company. When the company eventually decided to promote their apps overseas, they made the move to the Adjust SDK to track performance going forward. With many of their global agents and DeNA's US subsidiary already using Adjust, it was a seamless transition, Fukada recalls.

Different SDKs have different ad campaign processes. If you have multiple apps in operation, unifying the SDK will make the entire process smoother. DeNA initially had some difficulties unifying the SDK for multiple apps, and tracking via cookies was already prohibited at this stage - so they focused on using the tracking data from Adjust.

Fukada is now often approached for support by other departments and divisions including entertainment, sports and automotive. "Using the same tools makes it easier to support other divisions when preparing the data environment for digital marketing and infrastructure for campaigns - it also offers a big advantage to data managers," he said.

Sharing the latest data with the whole team

At DeNA, they forward raw data from Adjust to their database for analysis. The latest data gets automatically aggregated by the dedicated data analysis unit and is then shared internally via their BI tool.

Their data analysis team also uses data obtained from sources other than Adjust. For example, they obtain cost data from agencies to check the total amount of budget being used - including media costs and margins.

In addition, at DeNA, domestic and overseas teams operate in-house and work with agencies, individually determining the operation processes they deem most efficient. When several teams operate one app, they do not ask everyone to produce data sets with the same granularity and accuracy, but to use the data acquired from Adjust, and to then share the processed data with other departments.

Analysis flow for creatives

What’s really interesting about ad analysis at DeNA is the flow in place to assist marketers in making decisions regarding creatives. According to Fukada, they generate reports that include the images and videos used in ads along with the aggregated data so that marketers and creators can see which creatives are performing best.

By internally storing the data layers such as creative data, networks, and campaigns made to track ads, and aggregating them with raw data acquired from Adjust after serving the ad, they can identify which creative drove the most traffic.

There are various people involved in this flow including creators and staff responsible for data submission - not just marketers and analysts. It’s important that the job can be done effectively by a large range of team members, ensuring that data accuracy is always maintained.

Adjust's app tracking allows clients to generate URLs for tracking, and to easily set parameters from within a spreadsheet. The simplicity of Adjust’s features is a key driver in keeping DeNA’s data analysis processes lean and effective.

Changing the data view depending on KPI

Fukada emphasizes that understanding which KPI is used as the basis for campaign measurement is fundamental in data analysis. Since there are various definitions for concepts such as the number of devices, number of accounts, and number of users, the main KPI will differ depending on the timing and purpose of analysis. In Japan, there is also the concept of ‘risemara,’ which can be translated as ‘reset marathon.’ This describes games with a mechanic where the player is rewarded with a random character after a certain level of progress. If the user doesn’t get a sufficiently powerful character, they will often uninstall and start the process again until they roll a good character.

When tracking an event like the reset marathon, an SDK that can maintain accuracy of attribution — like the one offered by Adjust — should be used so that installs that take place during a reset marathon will not be considered organic. DeNA are able to determine installs and reattributions based on their own definitions by aggregating session data from Adjust. By acquiring data within a longer reattribution window than the actual evaluation period, and sending postback using the period set in Adjust to media, the attribution window for evaluating ad performance internally can be adjusted for each data aggregation.

Predict impact with uninstall and reinstall tracking

Uninstall and reinstall tracking with Adjust offers an opportunity for users who have uninstalled an app to reinstall it and have their lifecycle and LTV boosted. Fukada says that the accuracy of LTV prediction has been significantly improved since DeNA adopted this function. For example, users who reinstalled the app showed positive CPI while CPI for those who did not reinstall was higher than the target. DeNA continually evaluates campaigns and makes adjustments to their budgets based on this tracking data.

In addition, Fukada says that they have been able to gain interesting insights from uninstall and reinstall tracking, including the revelation that LTV might be predictable depending on how users returned to the game. His team discovered that "there are cases where reattributions after reinstalls showed higher LTV than usual reattributions."

An example of this is the users who left the game after playing it for a while, but then started from the beginning again once they returned, as opposed to picking up where they left off. The attribution windows of titles that have been on the market for a few years demonstrate that users are often likely to reinstall after a period of inactivity.

DeNA's gaming ad campaigns are most commonly run for one to two weeks while in-game events are happening. As the first few days are especially important, they typically plan their budgets as early as possible. This is why they aim to predict the impact of an ad based on the assumed LTV provided by each source.

The accuracy of LTV prediction has been significantly improved since DeNA adopted the tracking function.

DeNA Co., Ltd.

Privacy-focused promotion

In the app industry, the protection of user privacy is crucial, and becoming more important than ever before. In response to this, DeNA is currently exploring ways to plan and develop promotions while enhancing privacy. Fukada explains that "multi-channel analysis which combines data with granularity and meaning - such as data from the platform/SDK - will be a challenge going forward. It requires a tool which can integrate this in an effective and convenient manner.”

In the Adjust dashboard, only certain users with admin permissions can access raw data. This means that any other users are not permitted to download device information from the dashboard. For companies considering the implementation of an SDK, it is highly recommended to evaluate app tracking tools for security and user privacy to avoid data leakage.

Support from Adjust and future outlook

Fukada explained that he "is very satisfied with the detailed feedback" he has received from the Adjust support team. "For verification during the implementation stage, it would be much easier if there was a simple verification process that even users without knowledge of the Adjust SDK would be able to handle. It is very helpful, however, that Adjust offers great support for these technical issues."

DeNA is currently using the trial version of "Automate", Adjust's marketing automation solution. Fukada detailed that their current outlook is focused on increasing efficiency and improving results, "Considering that we’re currently handling ad operations with agencies as well as in-house, we’re working on making our overall process more efficient - and this will be the driving factor for any methods that we choose.”

Trusted by over 50,000 apps worldwide