教育和游戏类

案例研究:Duolingo

了解更多
资源 客户案例 案例研究:Duolingo

挑战

制定清晰的用户获取策略

Duolingo 拥有海量的用户。为了将营销活动的影响力发挥到最大,基于数据做出更有力度的明智决策,Duolingo 决定与一家 MMP 开展合作。基于充分的调研和同行推荐,Duolingo 工程团队最终选择了 Adjust。

在与 Adjust 合作之前,Duolingo 的团队并没有清晰的用户获取 (UA) 策略,而是由工程师匆匆设置简单的推广活动和 Facebook 广告,进行最基本的营销表现跟踪。效果营销和媒体总监 Arthur Jun 在 2018 年加入 Duolinguo 后,受托组建一支更成熟的效果营销团队,同时构造基础架构和技术堆栈。而 Arthur Jun 采取的主要方法包括确保事件数据精准,正确集成合作伙伴优化事件,持续开展测试、规划并制定策略,为未来的营销推广活动铺平道路。

从本质上来说,Duolingo 是一款由工程和产品驱动的平台。因此,公司的目标是从工程学视角了解如何无缝集成工具并进行优化,提高营销表现。Duolingo 团队提出了这样的问题:如何通过 Adjust 让 UA 推广活动登上新的高度,推动并改善整体运作?未来,Arthur 和他的团队希望通过 Adjust 更深刻地理解用户生命周期,更高效地开展推广活动优化,吸引更多的 Duolingo Plus 订阅,并将品牌知名度与效果营销指标联系起来。

"Adjust 一直以来都非常令人满意。他们帮助我们完成质量保证,为不甚熟悉营销的工程师提供培训,教我们理解细微的差别……如果没有 Adjust 的支持,很多工作都几乎不可能开展起来。"

Arthur Jun

解决方案

以 Adjust 作为真实数据来源

Duolingo 的关键问题在于 UA 推广活动表现监测以及用户旅程的理解。选择 Adjust 作为 MMP,将其为唯一真实数据来源,Duolingo 的团队得以基于数据做出决策,不断优化推广活动表现。Adjust 的客户成功团队还提供了一对一的顾问解决方案,帮助 Duolingo 工程师掌握产品运作方式,让他们高效报告、分析并精准监测营销表现。

Duolingo 团队使用 Adjust Measure 进行数据分析和优化,显著提高了整体效率,并将数据集汇聚至一处,方便立足于数据,做出综合全面的决策。利用优异的数据可见度和精细度,他们能够将精力集中在最重要的 KPI 上,包括第 7 天留存率、变现事件、1 年和 3 年生命周期价值 (LTV)。

Duolingo 团队当前还在尝试使用 Adjust 防作弊套件,实时抵御广告欺诈,指定 "程序化" 对 Duolingo 来说意味着什么,借助这一更强大的框架,掌握现存的作弊类型和来源,理解作弊活动是如何影响和扭曲数据集的。

"使用 Adjust 防作弊套件后,我们发现,之前我们认为表现最好的渠道之一其实表现垫底。这一发现很有意义,也帮我们节约了媒体成本。"

Arthur Jun

成果

有可行价值的洞察和可衡量的成果

选择与 Adjust 合作后,Duolingo 利用海量有可行价值的洞察和可衡量的成果开始了策略重塑,调整用户获取和监测方法。借助 Adjust Measure,Duolingo 理解了用户获取层面的指标,实现了第 7 天留存率和 LTV 的大幅提升。如果没有 Adjust,就无法实现真实媒体来源的归因。

Adjust 是 Duolingo 的唯一真实数据来源,并通过下列方式提高了 Duolingo 团队的灵活性:

  • 改善 Duolingo 与合作伙伴的关系,包括 Google 和 Facebook。如今 Duolingo 对应当优化的指标有了更深的理解,也了解了如何改善整体表现。
  • 在营销方法问题上,帮助 Duolingo 达成全公司范围内的共识。
  • 在推广活动发布时,使用 Adjust 跟踪链接整合品牌知名度推广活动,例如合作伙伴/附属机构新闻简讯,或大型品牌推广活动等。
  • 辅助 Duolingo 尝试包括红人 (influencer) 营销在内的大量用户获取新渠道,提供更深刻的洞见,助其甄别表现优异和欠佳的渠道。
  • 积极主动防御广告欺诈,让 Duolingo 拥有准确的数据集,了解哪些渠道表现优秀。

“我们是一家移动优先的企业,而 Adjust 帮助我们理解了不同媒体对业务的影响,我们现在有能力、也有机会灵活测试漏斗下游事件。今年,我们依旧在这一旅程中不断迈进,继续开展优化,更深刻地理解推广效率。"

Arthur Jun

Duolingo 简介

您知道吗?

Duolingo 最初是美国加州匹兹堡卡内基梅隆大学 (Carnegie Mellon University) Luis von Ahn 教授和其门下研究生 Severin Hacker 的一个项目,研发的初衷是为了用科技的力量提供免费语言教学。到 2011 年,Duolingo 团队融资 330 万美金并发布了 Beta 封测,其使用者等候名单累计超过 300,000 人。2012 年 6 月,Duolingo 应用在全球范围内面向公众发布,到 2020 年用户总人数已超过 5 亿,每月活跃用户高达 4,000 万人,遍及全球几乎所有国家和地区。

Duolingo 应用集教育和游戏为一体,包含奖励系统和进度树机制。此外,用户还能加入所选语种的竞赛,跻身排行榜,赢得徽章,秀出自己的的进度和水平。应用内学习采取短小精悍的游戏形式,结合听、说、读、写多种练习方法,帮助用户习得新语言。

除了数以百万的居家用户外,Duolingo 还深受学校和企业青睐。应用多数功能免费,用户也可选择升级至 Duolingo Plus,移除应用内广告。

  • 英语是当前 Duolingo 学习人数最多的语言,其次分别为西班牙语、法语和德语。
  • 日语和韩语是最热门的两种亚洲语言。
  • 在爱尔兰和瑞典,学习人数最多的语言是其对应母语。
  • 西班牙语是美国地区学习人数最多的语言,其次是英语。
  • 纳瓦霍语和夏威夷语也吸引了众多学生,其中出于脑力训练和文化体验目的学习的人最多。夏威夷语甚至登上了夏威夷地区热门语言榜单第 2 位。

深受全球领先品牌信赖

Education & Gaming

Case Study: Duolingo

Read more
Resources Case Studies Case Study: Duolingo

The Challenge

Developing a clear user acquisition strategy

Duolingo has a huge number of users and made the decision to start working with an MMP to maximize the impact of their marketing and make stronger, data-driven decisions. After undertaking extensive research and engaging in peer reviews, the engineering team settled on Adjust.

Before working with Adjust, the team at Duolingo had no clear UA strategy. An engineer would “throw up”simple campaigns and Facebook ads and track their performance at a basic level. When Arthur Jun, Head of Performance Marketing & Media joined in 2018, he was also tasked with setting up a more sophisticated performance marketing team and establishing the infrastructure and tech stack. Ensuring event data was accurate, that optimization events for partners were integrated properly and to continually test, plan and strategize for future marketing campaigns and activities was integral to his approach.

Duolingo is, first and foremost, an engineering and product-driven platform, so the goal was to workout how to optimize it for marketing performance by seamlessly integrating a tool from an engineering perspective. In essence, they asked themselves how they could use Adjust to take their UA campaigns to the next level and help drive their overall success.Moving forward, Arthur and his team are looking to use Adjust to further understand their user lifecycles- to better optimize their campaigns, driving Duolingo Plus subscriptions and tie brand awareness in with performance marketing metrics.

"Adjust has been amazing - helping us through QA, educating our engineers who aren’t necessarily marketing experts, teaching them what the different nuances are... without Adjust’s support it would have been nearly impossible to get things off the ground."

Arthur Jun

Head of Performance Marketing & Media, Duolingo

The Solution

Adjust as a "source of truth"

With the key issue being performance measurement of UA campaigns and understanding user journeys,choosing Adjust as their MMP and single source of truth has empowered the Duolingo team to make data-driven decisions that drive campaign performance forward. TheAdjust CSM team also provided one-on-one consulting solutions to help train their engineers in understanding how the product works, allowing them to effectively report, analyze and accurately measure performance.

By using Adjust Measure for optimization and analytics,they’ve significantly improved their overall efficiency.With their datasets now in one place, they’re able to make holistic, informed decisions. With the level of data visibility and granularity provided, the team has been able to focus on the KPIs that matter to them most - day 7 retention, monetization events, one-year LTV, and three-year LTV.

Working with the Adjust Fraud Prevention Suite, which the team are currently testing, is already allowing them to proactively fight ad fraud in real time. It’s also helped them to define what programmatic means for Duolingo, and to have a stronger framework for understanding the types of fraud that exist, where it comes from and how it impacts and skews data sets

"By activating Adjust’s Fraud Prevention Suite we saw what we thought was one of our best-performing channels turn into one of our worst-performing channels. So that’s been a great learning and really helped us save on media costs.

Arthur Jun

Head of Performance Marketing & Media, Duolingo

The Results

Actionable insights and measurable results

Duolingo’s journey with Adjust enabled a restrategizing of how they work with user acquisition and measurement, which packaged together meant aswathe of actionable insights and measurable results.Using Measure, their day 7 retention and LTV improved drastically, as they were able to understand the metrics at the acquisition level - without Adjust, there was no attribution to an actual media source

As Duolingo’s single source of truth, Adjust empowered the team to become more agile by:

  • Improving their relationships with partners including Google and Facebook. Now they better understand the metrics they should optimize for and how to make their general performance portfolio better.
  • Helping them to gain a common ground for a company-wide approach to marketing.
  • Enabling them to integrate ‘awareness media’ campaigns using Adjust tracking URLs when launching, for example, newsletters with a partner/affiliate, or large branding campaigns.
  • Providing them with deeper insights into channels that are working vs. not working as they trial a lot of new acquisition channels - including influencer marketing.
  • Proactively stopping ad fraud, allowing them to rely on clean datasets and see which channels are actually performing best.

We’re a mobile-first company and Adjust has helped us to gain an understanding of how different media's impact our business - we now have the ability and opportunity to test down-funnel events in an agile way and the ongoing journey for this year is to continue to optimize and better understand our efficiencies.”

Arthur Jun

Head of Performance Marketing & Media, Duolingo

About Duolingo

Did you know?

Duolingo started at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburg has a project by a university professor, Luis von Ahn, and his graduate student, Severin Hacker. It was created with the goal of teaching language for free through technology.By 2011, the team had raised USD $3.3 million, launched a private beta, and gathered more than 300,000 waiting list users. The app launched globally to the general public in June 2012, and as of 2020 has a community of over 500 million total users and 40 million monthly active users based in nearly every country in the world.

The app, which lies at the crossroads of the education and gaming verticals, features a reward system and a progress tree. There are also leaderboards where users can compete in their chosen languages and gain badges to display their progress and levels. The process of acquiring languages and studying in-app combines methods of listening, speaking,reading, and writing in short game-like exercises.

In addition to its millions of at-home users, it’s also a favorite in schools and businesses. Most of its features are free to use, with the opportunity to remove in-app advertising by upgrading to Duolingo Plus.

  • English is currently Duolingo’s most studied language, followed by Spanish, French and German.
  • Japanese and Korean are the top two Asian languages.
  • In Ireland and Sweden, their own languages are the most studied on the platform.
  • Spanish is the most studied language in the U.S., followed by English.
  • Navajo and Hawaiian also attract a lot of learners, especially for brain training and culture, and Hawaiian even reaches the #2 spot in Hawai'i.