联网电视 (CTV)

联网电视 (CTV) 定义

联网电视 (CTV) 指任何能够接入互联网的电视机,一般用来观看流媒体视频。联网电视也包括智能电视、带机顶盒的电视、电视棒 (stick) 甚至某些游戏主机。如果您在 Roku 设备、Sony 智能电视甚至 PlayStation 上观看流媒体视频内容,就在使用 "联网电视"。

什么是 OTT,OTT 与 CTV 有何区别?

OTT 是英文 "Over The Top" 的首字母缩写,意为 "越顶",指通过互联网、"越过” 另一平台 "顶部" 提供内容的流媒体服务。NetflixHulu 等属于视频 OTT 服务,而 Spotify 则是音频 OTT 服务。无论任何设备,只要拥有互联网连接和屏幕,就可以使用 OTT。甚至 WhatsApp、Viber 和 Telegram 等应用都属于 OTT 服务,因为用户可以借助互联网连接分享信息,实现此类应用的功能。

简言之,OTT 就是通过互联网向设备提供内容的服务,而其中的 "设备" 通常是 CTV。要进一步了解 OTT 相关信息,欢迎查看 "什么是 OTT?"

OTT 流媒体服务、CTV 平台、CTV 和 OTT 广告位示例

如何使用 Adjust 监测 CTV 表现?

借助 Adjust 综合解决方案 CTV AdVision,营销人员可以将应用转化、安装后事件与 CTV 广告关联起来,检验 ROI,并了解 CTV 对用户旅程和其他广告渠道的影响。最受客户欢迎的 Adjust 热门监测服务有两种:CTV 到移动端和 CTV 到 CTV 监测。

CTV 到移动端监测

采用我们的联网电视到移动端解决方案,营销人员能够自信地监测 CTV 广告表现对移动应用的影响。通过监测移动应用的 CTV 营销推广活动,可以了解 CTV 在营销组合中扮演的角色,全方位掌握用户获取漏斗情况,并利用第二屏幕体验获得优势。

CTV 到 CTV 监测

许多联网电视平台都有自己的 CTV 应用,例如 Roku OneView。CTV 应用是指专为联网电视 (CTV) 端开发的应用。借助 Adjust 的 CTV 到 CTV 监测功能,营销人员能够掌握 CTV 应用中所投放 CTV 广告的表现。通过 Adjust 监测 CTV 设备端 CTV 营销推广活动的效果,您可以覆盖大量观众,向全球范围扩展,同时继续开展移动营销人员惯用的 ROI 和 ROAS 监测。

CTV 营销分哪几种?

OTT 广告分为客户端和服务器端广告两大类。如果选择客户端 OTT 广告,那么流媒体视口就会在剧集/电影播放之前加载广告。服务器端广告插入则会将广告无缝整合至媒体传送的内容中,因此无法屏蔽。不过,服务器端广告插入在技术层面上的难度更高,因此对这一方法的支持也相对少见。

主要的 CTV 广告格式有哪些?

CTV 生态中,营销人员可以采用 6 种 CTV 广告格式 (不包括标准视频广告) 向用户投放广告,包括:

  • 动态覆盖广告:个性化的广告会以 "覆盖 (overlay)" 层的形式出现在视频内容中,向观众展示。
  • 用户自选广告:用户能够自行选择想要观看的广告。该广告格式一般会弹出 "您想享受哪种广告体验?" 的信息,并提供两个选择。
  • 可选购和可互动视频:互动型广告,可包含教育类内容和外部链接等,也能内嵌点击购买功能,让用户直接在广告中与产品及品牌相连。
  • 集成语音的视频广告:用户可以向遥控器发出语音指令,根据屏幕上的提示进行操作,促进用户交互提高。
  • 连续 CTV 素材:用一系列广告讲 "故事",持续吸引用户兴趣。
  • 素材扩展和 end card:在现有 CTV 素材之前或之后投放的短小内容。二维码是监测广告表现的极佳方法。

CTV 营销有哪些优势?

随着 CTV 采用率急剧提高,应用营销人员应当集中精力开展 CTV 营销活动,获得多种优势,充分发挥出 CTV 渠道的用户获取潜力。

拓宽覆盖面

CTV 已经延申到客厅中的各类设备,正在成为家庭生活的焦点所在。eMarketer 在一份报告中指出,超过一半的美国 YouTube 观众都会通过联网电视消费视频流媒体平台内容。此外,绝大部分美国消费者都偏爱通过电视消费 OTT 内容。在美国,62% 的用户称其最经常在电视端访问 OTT 服务,移动端位居第二,但只有 9%。

提高品牌影响力

在一份 Statista 问卷调查中,71% 的美国受访者称,如果在联网电视广告中看到某一品牌,他们愿意告之亲友;而在传统线性电视广告中看到同一品牌则更少有这样的意愿。由此可见,CTV 营销的力量不容低估。

拓展用户旅程

CTV 营销活动可以辅助营销策略组合中的其他用户获取渠道,再配合 Adjust CTV AdVision 解决方案,您就能精准分析 CTV 广告对用户旅程中用户转化的贡献,并比较 CTV 推广活动和其他营销渠道表现,综合全面地掌握整个用户旅程情况。

简言之,CTV 营销的重要性日益提高,是营销人员不可忽视的关键营销渠道。如果您想申请 DEMO,进一步了解 Adjust 综合 CTV 解决方案 CTV AdVision,欢迎点击这里

想了解 Adjust 的最新消息?

What is connected TV (CTV)?

Glossary Connected TV

The definition of connected TV (CTV)

A connected TV (CTV) is any TV set connected to the internet, most commonly used to stream video. As well as encompassing smart TVs, the term also refers to TVs connected via set-top boxes, TV sticks, and even gaming consoles. So if you’re streaming video content from a Roku device, a Sony smart TV, or a Playstation, you’re using connected TV.

What is OTT and how is it different from CTV?

OTT stands for Over The Top and refers to streaming services that deliver content via the internet. The service is delivered “over the top” of another platform. Services like Netflix or Hulu are video OTT services while Spotify is an audio OTT service. OTT can be consumed on any device with an internet connection and a screen. Even apps like WhatsApp, Viber, and Telegram are OTT services, as they function by allowing users to use their internet connection to share information.

In short, OTT is the service that provides internet-enabled content to a device, and often, those devices are CTVs. For more information on OTT, check out What is OTT?

Examples of OTT streaming services, CTV platforms and CTV and OTT Ad inventory options

How can I measure CTV with Adjust?

With Adjust’s comprehensive solution, CTV AdVision, marketers can prove ROI by linking app conversions and post-install events to CTV ads as well as determining CTV impact on the customer journey and other ad channels. The two most popular measurements clients seek from Adjust are CTV to mobile and CTV to CTV.

CTV to Mobile measurement

Our Connected TV to Mobile solution allows marketers to measure the performance of CTV ads that appear on mobile apps. Measuring CTV ad campaigns for mobile apps will enable you to understand the role CTV plays in your marketing mix, leverage the second screen experience, and see the full scope of your acquisition funnel.

CTV to CTV measurement

Many CTV platforms have their own CTV apps, like Roku OneView. A CTV app is one that’s specifically designed to work on a CTV. Adjust’s CTV to CTV measurement lets marketers monitor the performance of CTV ads shown on CTV apps. Measuring the effectiveness of CTV ad campaigns for CTV devices with Adjust provides the benefits of large viewership and global reach while not compromising on the ROI and ROAS measurement that mobile marketers crave.

What types of CTV advertising are there?

There are two main types of OTT ads: client-side and server-side. In client-side settings, the streaming media viewport loads ads before episodes or movies are shown. Server-side ad insertion does not allow you to block ads because they are seamlessly integrated into the frame of the media. However, supporting server-side ad insertion is still relatively uncommon, as it is a much more technically challenging task.

What are the main CTV ad formats?

Within the CTV ecosystem, there are six CTV ad formats in addition to the standard video ads through which marketers can serve ads to users.

  • Dynamic overlay: Existing video content is leveraged, given an “overlay,” and personalized for the viewer.
  • Choice-based: Users are empowered to choose the ad they want to see. Often a message like “Which ad experience would you prefer?” is displayed with two options.
  • Shoppable and actionable video: These ads are interactive and connect users to the products and brands within the ads. They can provide educational content, external links, and have click-to-buy capabilities within the ad itself.
  • Voice-integrated video ads: Users use their voice by speaking into the remote to follow on-screen prompts, pushing user engagement.
  • Sequential CTV creative: Instead of during one shot, a story is told over a sequence, using multiple ads.
  • Creative extensions and end cards: This ad type is short-form content served before or after existing CTV creatives. Incorporating QR codes is a great way to measure ad impact.

What are the benefits of CTV advertising?

With CTV adoption rates skyrocketing, marketers should take full advantage of this channel for user acquisition. By focusing on CTV advertising, app marketers gain several advantages.

Achieve a wider reach

CTV is becoming a key focal point in family life, existing across different devices in the living room. According to a report from eMarketer, more than half of US YouTuber viewers watch the video-streaming platform via a connected TV. Additionally, television is the overwhelmingly preferred device for American consumers to consume OTT content. In the United States, 62% of users say they access OTT services most often on TV. Mobile in second place at 9%.

Make a greater brand impact

In a Statista survey in the U.S.,  71% of participants said they were more likely to tell a friend about a brand after seeing it in a connected TV ad rather than viewing the brand in a linear TV ad. Don’t underestimate the power of CTV advertising.

Expand the user journey

By leveraging CTV advertising, you can assist the other user acquisition channels in your marketing strategy. Then, with a solution like Adjust’s CTV AdVision, you can precisely analyze how your CTV ads help users convert within the user journey. Plus, you’ll be able to compare your CTV campaigns to the performance of your other marketing channels for a holistic view of your user journey.

In summary, CTV advertising is an increasingly vital channel marketers should not ignore. If you’d like to book a demo to learn more about our comprehensive CTV solution, CTV AdVision, click here.

Want to get the latest from Adjust?