移动应用术语 OTT/Over The Top

移动应用术语

OTT/Over The Top

OTT 是什么意思?

OTT 是“Over The Top”的缩写,指的是通过互联网传输流媒体的服务。“Over The Top” 原指篮球运动中的过顶传球,而 OTT 服务的传输过程“越过”了另外一种平台,因此而得名。

前些年,消费者往往会购买有线服务,其提供商负责节目内容的供应。在当今社会,用户可以注册 Netflix 或 Spotify 等服务并通过互联网获取内容。有线服务提供商只提供网络连接,无法控制受众消费的内容。这一变化对广告行业意义重大。

OTT 的重要性何在?

由于 OTT 是一种较新的现象,其增长潜力是巨大的。很多公司纷纷试水 OTT 领域,为用户提供了诸多选择,同时也为广告商提供了更多广告位。随着越来越多人放弃有线电视,转向线上媒体消费,OTT 服务也越来越成为广告商接触用户的重要渠道。然而,营销人员应该如何利用此类平台还不甚明朗。

OTT 有何益处?

传统的媒体广告购买中,要衡量广告的效果十分困难。随着用户转向 OTT 领域,平台将有能力为用户展示个性化的广告并跟踪用户的点击率,这样一来,即利用了传统媒体的诱人内容,又拥有了量化并利用数据评估的先进技术,可谓两全其美。

OTT 服务的种类有哪些?

最常见的 OTT 服务可能是视频 OTT。Netflix 和 Hulu 就是视频 OTT 服务的典型例子,它们为用户提供了多种节目选择,其中包括授权电视节目和电影,以及原创节目。

另一个主要的 OTT 市场是音频。Spotify 几乎已经成了音乐流媒体的代名词。用户可以通过互联网访问大量的歌曲和广播内容。

还记得短信吗?如今,大多数用户会使用 WhatsApp,Telegram 或 Signal 等消息服务,通过网络连接来分享信息。

同样,语音 OTT 服务(比如 Skype 和 WhatsApp)也逐渐取代电话,变得越来越流行了。

什么是 OTT 广告?

很多 OTT 服务采用付费订阅制,但也有很多平台播放广告。OTT 广告和传统媒体广告非常相似,通常在歌曲或剧集中间播放,只不过这个过程发生在 OTT 平台的流媒体中。

OTT 广告设置通常有两种,即客户端设置和服务端设置。

客户端设置中,流媒体的视窗会在剧集或电影开始前加载广告。当采用服务端插入时,广告会被无缝嵌入媒体框架中,无法被拦截。不过,服务端插入广告对技术要求更高,所以目前还不常见。

Glossary OTT Over The Top

The Adjust Mobile Measurement Glossary

OTT/Over The Top

What is the definition of OTT

OTT stands for ‘Over The Top’ and refers to any streaming service that delivers content over the internet. The service is delivered ‘over the top’ of another platform, hence the moniker.

In previous years, a consumer would take out a cable subscription and their cable TV provider would be responsible for the supply and availability of programming. In the modern era, users can sign up for services like Netflix or Spotify and access their offerings over the internet. The cable provider now only provides the internet connection and has no ability to control what you consume. This separation has big implications for advertising.

Why is OTT important?

Because OTT is a relatively new phenomenon, there is a huge amount of growth potential. Lots of companies are entering the OTT space, leading to a wide variety of options for consumers, and increasing quantities of ad inventory for advertisers. As more people ‘cut the cord’ and move towards online-only media consumption, the way to reach these consumers will increasingly be via OTT services. How marketers can take advantage of these platforms remains, widely, to be seen.

What are the benefits of OTT?

In legacy media ad buying, it can be hard to measure impact. As users move towards the OTT space, the ability to show them personalized ads and track their click-through rate will mean the benefits of old media in terms of attractive packages of content, but with a very modern ability to quantify impact and leverage measurement.

What kinds of services can be OTT?

The type of OTT service you probably interact with most regularly is video OTT. Services like Netflix or Hulu are video OTT services, which provide users with a number of programming options, both in terms of a licensed library of TV shows and films, as well as original programming.

Another major OTT market is audio, with services such as Spotify now almost synonymous with music streaming. Users can access a massive library of recording artists and podcasts via an internet connection.

Remember text messages? Most users now use OTT messaging services like WhatsApp, Telegram or Signal, which allow them to use their internet connection to share information.

Similarly, voice OTT services, like Skype or WhatsApp, are increasingly common instead of phone calls.

What is OTT advertising?

Many OTT services operate on a paid subscription basis, but a large number also run advertisements — or offer tiered packages that allow users to either pay for ad-free experiences. OTT advertising is much like legacy media advertising, usually taking place between songs or episodes, but it is delivered through the streaming media on OTT platforms.

There are two main types of OTT advertising set-ups, client-side and service-side.

In a client-side setup, the viewport for the streaming media loads the ad before the episode or film is shown. In a server-side ad insertion, the ad is integrated seamlessly into the frames of the media, meaning it is not possible to ad-block. However, it is a much more technically challenging proposition to support server-side ad insertion, so it is still relatively uncommon.