教育

案例研究:Fender

了解更多

800,000 人试用了 Fender Play™

用户获取成本降低 12%

品牌知名度提升

资源 客户案例 案例研究:Fender

Fender 简介

如果您欣赏过过去 75 年中的任何流行音乐,那么一定听到过 Fender 吉他或贝斯的声音。Fender 旗下不仅有吉他,还有各类其他乐器和效果器,其标志性的乐声响彻全球,品牌影响力极强。Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) 由 Clarence Leonidas "Leo" Fender 创立,初期为 Fender's Radio Service,如今已走过了整整 75 年的历程。

1950 年,Fender 推出了世界上第一款量产实心电吉他 Telecaster,成为不朽的经典。继 Telecaster 的成功后,Fender 又在 1954 年推出了标志性的 Stratocaster 电吉他。这家公司在音乐界影响深远,地位特殊。但现在,他们希望以移动应用 Fender Play™ 来重塑创新者的角色。

市面上的吉他学习应用多如牛毛,但 Fender Play™ 卓尔不群,能提供课程计划、高质量伴奏以及考验学习者练琴成果的精选曲集,是吉他、贝斯和尤克里里的全方位学习应用。Fender Play™ 还会每周放送奖品,帮助用户持之以恒地练习。此外,用户还能加入学习者社区,建立联系,分享自己的进度。

应用提供 7 天免费试用,无需用户输入支付信息。当前,平台上已经有超过 3,000 节课程,这个数字还在不断增加。迄今为止,用户已在 Fender Play™ 上完成 5,500 万次吉他课程。

挑战

2020 年伊始,Fender Play™ 仅提供付费订阅服务,其用户中有 80% 都是付费订阅者。但在去年防疫封锁刚刚开始之时,Fender 去除了 Fender Play™ 的使用门槛,向所有人开放为期 90 天的免费使用机会。

这一举措奏响了变化的序章。免费使用机会为 Fender Play™ 吸引了众多新用户,但也带来了新的问题:如何将这股突然迸发的热情转化为订阅呢?新的模型要有新的策略,Fender 需要推动用户更深入地体验 Fender Play™,才能获得与过去订阅模型同等的收益。Fender 的洞察和数据分析总监 Cliff Kim 向我们介绍了上述新挑战的解决方法。

  • 产品永远都有改善的空间。Fender 将主要注意力放在了用户体验的扩展和提升上,以期让用户怀着满意和激动的心情结束免费试用,并继续他们的吉他旅程。

"可以免费使用应用,并不一定代表着人们之后就愿意为之付费。要让应用保持良好的发展势头,强大可靠的数字策略非常重要 ...有了免费的吉他演奏平台订阅,用户自然就会有更高的意愿在吉他上花更多的钱。"

  • Fender 的另一个关注点是支出情况,尤其是如何更高效地进行支出。为了尽可能便捷高效地吸引用户,Fender 将视线转向了多触点归因。

"我们希望了解手头现有的资源和数据能用来干些什么。团队根据上一年的成果制定了策略,同时还进行了疫情相关的趋势分析。"

解决方案

通过 Adjust 多触点解决方案,Fender 能更精细和充分地了解完整用户旅程,掌握旅程地图,发现不同的趋势和渠道之间的关联。Adjust 受众分群工具也是 Fender Play™ 新业务模型的利器,能通过自动化用户分群增加交互,改善营销表现。借助受众分群工具,Fender 能够排除已经尝试过 Fender Play™ 的用户,降低成本。对于考虑采用同样订阅模型的应用来说,这种做法裨益良多。

有了混合使用不同广告渠道的可能,每千次展示成本 (CPM) 飙升。借助 Adjust 归因服务,Fender 能够按照自己的需要随时自定义归因设置,寻找新的营销机遇。再营销推广活动是打造高生命周期价值 (LTV) 受众最简便、性价比最高的方法。用户已经尝试过应用,也表达出了学习吉他的兴趣,属于已经 "被俘获" 的受众,再营销起来更加容易。

"用户只要有兴趣,就会学习吉他,但问题是如何在更广的范围内激发这种兴趣和热情 ... 因此,再营销对我们来说效果十分显著。"

Cliff Kim

成果

借助多触点的力量,Fender 能够针对特定受众开展营销推广活动,优化广告支出。在使用 Adjust 受众分群工具的一年半时间里,Fender 在轻松将现有的订阅用户排除在推广活动之外,把宝贵的时间和资源用在用户获取推广活动上。

"我们不会浪费资金去定向那些已经订阅的人,这一功能对我们的帮助巨大。"

Cliff Kim

  • 公司去年提供了应用免费使用机会,吸引了大量新用户,显著提升了品牌知名度。有 800,000 人尝试了 Fender Play™,几乎是曾使用过应用的用户数量的两倍。
  • 利用 Adjust 受众分群工具,Fender Play™ 用户获取成本显著降低,降幅达 12% 左右。
  • 通过 Adjust,Fender 可以分析广告支出的具体情况,将支出和效果联系起来,发现应用收益最高的平台和地区。
  • 知名音乐品牌 Fender 诞生于数字时代开始很早以前,但 Fender Play™* 是品牌传奇的进一步延伸。应用向忠实用户提供奖励,也建立起了吉他社区,吸引和鼓励用户交互。这是一种非常好的办法,能在提高品牌知名度的同时产生线下收入。

深受全球领先品牌信赖

Education

Case Study: Fender

Read more

800,000 people tried Fender Play™

Acquisition costs reduced by 12%

Increased brand awareness

Resources Case Studies Case Study: Fender

About Fender

If you have listened to any popular music from the last 75 years, you’ve undoubtedly heard a Fender guitar or bass. With iconic sounds stemming from Fender’s guitars or arsenal of other instruments and effects, the brand’s impact cannot be overstated. Founded as Fender's Radio Service by Clarence Leonidas ‘Leo’ Fender, Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) as we know it celebrates its 75th year.

Fender created the first mass-produced solid-body electric guitar -the timeless Telecaster - in 1950. Following up on this success, in 1954 the iconic Stratocaster was introduced to the world. What makes Fender so special is its lasting presence in music, but they’re back to playing the role of innovators with Fender Play™.

While there are many guitar learning apps on the market, Fender Play™ sets itself apart, offering lesson plans, a curated song collection to put your practice to the test, and high quality backing tracks. It’s the complete learning app for guitar, bass and ukulele. Fender Play™ also offers weekly giveaways to help you maintain practice streaks. Users can also join a community of learners where they can share their progress and connect.

Users can complete a 7 day free trial of the app with no payment details required. There are over 3000 lessons on the platform with more being added regularly. To date, 55 millions guitar lessons have been completed on Fender Play™ .

The Challenge

At the beginning of 2020, Fender Play™ was exclusively a paid subscription service—with 80% of their acquisitions as paying subscribers. However, last year Fender ungated Fender Play™ by offering it for free to everybody for 90 days during the early days of lockdown.

This serves as a prelude to what is happening now. Due to this switch Fender Play™ was getting a lot more new users, however their task now was to find a way in which to convert this sudden enthusiasm into subscribers. With an entirely new model, Fender needed a different strategy; driving users deeper into Fender Play™ in order to keep the app as profitable as when it was subscription-based. We spoke to Cliff Kim, Director of Insights and Analytics, about how Fender tackled these new challenges.

  • Their main focus was to expand upon and improve the user experience—a product can always be enhanced. The aim is to have users try it for free and hopefully come away from the trial excited and ready to continue their guitar playing journey.

"Just because something is out there and free, doesn't mean that people will start paying for it. So having a robust digital strategy allows you to bring traction to your app [...] When you have a subscription guitar playing platform for free, you're naturally inclined to spend money on guitars.”

  • The second aspect Fender looked at was their spending, more importantly, how they could make it more efficient. They looked into multi-touch attribution to find a method of bringing in users as cleanly and effectively as possible.

“We were interested in discovering what we were able to do with the resources and data we had. We based our strategy on insights from the previous year’s results, and undertook a trend analysis related to the pandemic.”

The Solution

With Adjust Multi-touch, which provides granular visibility over the full customer journey, Fender sees a complete user journey map and can spot trends and correlations between networks. Additionally, the perfect tool for Fender Play™’s new business model is Adjust’s Audience Builder, which allows automated segmentation that elevates marketing performance through increased engagement. With Audience Builder, Fender can cut down costs by excluding users that have already tried Fender Play™. This is a huge help for apps that are considering adopting this new subscription-based model.

With the possibility of mixing advertising channels, CPMs have skyrocketed. By using Adjust Attribution, Fender can customize each and every attribution setting anytime to suit their needs and find new marketing opportunities. Retargeting campaigns are the easiest and most cost-effective way to build a high LTV audience - users are a captive audience, having already tried the app and expressed interest in picking up the guitar.

"People that are interested in learning guitar will learn guitar, the problem is how do you generate that spark more broadly […] retargeting is huge for us”

Cliff Kim

The Result

Multi-touch empowered Fender to optimize their ad spend with marketing campaigns for specific audiences. By using the Adjust Audience Builder for the last year and a half, Fender easily excludes existing subscribed users from their campaigns. This allows Fender to refocus their time and resources on user acquisition campaigns.

"We're not wasting money targeting people that are already subscribed. That has been a life lifesaver””

Cliff Kim

  • When companies started giving away their apps for free last year it resulted in massive amounts of awareness and impressions. It paid off as 800,000 people tried Fender Play™, almost double the volume of users that had used it previously.
  • With Adjust’s Audience Builder, Fender Play™ reduced their acquisition costs substantially by between 12%.
  • With Adjust, Fender can analyze and correlate share and mix of ad spend to discover the most lucrative platforms and regions for their app.
  • Although Fender’s iconic brand was built long before the digital age, Fender Play™ further adds to this legacy. Their app entices its users to engage with loyalty programs and their guitar playing community. This is an excellent method to boost both brand awareness and offline revenue.

Trusted by globally leading brands