移动应用术语

即时应用

什么是即时应用?

即时应用 (Instant App) 允许用户在不安装应用的情况下访问应用的内容。即时应用旨在为用户节省设备上的应用空间,便捷地将用户深度链接到应用程序的特定功能。即时应用仅适用于安卓操作系统。

首次发布面向安卓操作系统的即时应用时,Google 利用停车计时器应用来举例说明要提供的产品。可能很少有用户会在设备上保留停车计时器应用,但是这种应用的功能可能在某些情况下非常实用。

如果用户能够以即时应用的形式访问这种应用,他们就可以即时使用该应用的功能,无需进行注册或安装。只要在安卓支付系统中输入了必要的支付详情,用户只需点击几下就可以完成购买。

Google Play Instant 即时应用功能,还为用户提供了在购买和完整安装之前进行试用的机会。

即时应用的工作原理是什么?

用户(通过链接、横幅或其他方式)点击即时应用的 URL 时,会被直接引导至应用内。这可能是因为应用已被分成多个模块,也就说只会下载显示相关模块所需的代码。因此,从技术层面而言,即时应用依然会被下载到设备上,不过其工作原理与移动浏览器相似,因为应用在关闭后就会被缓存。

以您购买新电视为例:您不太可能经常购买电视,因而不会专门为此下载相关应用。不过,如果您在谷歌上浏览到中意的型号,就可以被深度链接引导至应用内该产品所在的页面。由于只下载了该产品页面的代码,因此您可以无缝进入应用程序,在闲暇时进行购买。

即时应用是否为安卓用户的可选项?

所有安卓用户都可以在他们的设备设置中启用或禁用即时应用。安卓即时应用还要求设备运行 Android Lollipop (API 21) 或更高版本的系统才能正常工作。

Adjust 与即时应用

不论是用户行为还是应用特性,即时应用可能为这个行业带来深刻变革。Adjust 是目前唯一可以跟踪即时应用的移动评估提供商。这意味着我们可以为客户跟踪份额比以往任何时候都更大的市场。因此,如果您目前正在测试即时应用,请联系我们开始试用体验。我们的销售和支持团队非常乐意与您进一步讨论即时应用(以及如何跟踪即时应用)。

The Adjust Mobile Measurement Glossary

Related terms

Instant Apps

Definition

What are instant apps?

Instant apps allow users to access content from an app without installing. They are designed to save users space on their device for apps and conveniently deep link users to an app’s specific function. They are also only available for Android.

When Android instant apps were first announced, Google used a parking meter app as an example of what they have to offer. There are potentially few users who would keep a parking meter app on their device, but its functions can be really useful on certain occasions.

If the user is able to access this as an instant app, they can immediately use the app’s capabilities without signup or install. They can make a purchase with just a few clicks as long as the necessary payment details have been entered into Android pay.

Google Play Instant also gives users the opportunity to try an instant app before they purchase and install the app in full.

How do instant apps work?

When a user clicks on an instant app’s URL - whether through a link, banner or otherwise - that user will be sent directly into a section of the app. This is possible because the app has been split up into modules, meaning only the code needed to display that module is downloaded. So, technically, an instant app is still downloaded onto the device, but this works much like a mobile browser because the app is cached once it’s closed.

For example, let’s say you’re looking for a new TV. It’s unlikely that you regularly shop for TVs, so you probably don’t have an app purely for that purpose. But if you browse Google for the model of your choice, you can be deeplinked into an app’s product page for that item. Only the code for that product page was downloaded, so you can seamlessly entered the app and make the purchase at your leisure.

Are instant apps optional for Android users?

All Android users can toggle instant apps on or off in their settings. Android instant apps also require Android Lollipop (API 21) or higher to function.

Adjust and Instant Apps

From user behavior to the nature of apps, Instant Apps have the potential to profoundly change the industry. And currently, Adjust are the only mobile measurement provider able to track Instant Apps. This means we can provide our clients with tracking for a larger piece of the market than ever before. So, if you’re currently testing Instant Apps, please get in contact with us to start a trial. Our sales and support teams would also be pleased to discuss Instant Apps (and how to track them) in greater depth.

Related resources