移动应用术语

回传

什么是回传?

回传(也称回调)是在一个服务器与另一服务器终端之间执行的 ping 命令。回传可通过手动或自动方式实现;应用程序中完成了特定操作或事件时便会触发回传。

回传为什么很实用?

回传对于使用基于服务器之技术的人来说很重要,因为它会提供实时报告,便于获得商业情报。

单纯从机械角度来看,回传是将数据从一个服务器提取至另一个服务器的方法。这意味着,对于任何希望将信息汇入连接服务器的工具或控制面板(例如,移动数据分析控制面板)的人来说,回传都是必不可少的。

但是从更广的角度来说,拥有持续触发的回传会让企业对自己的数据质量更有信心。这让企业专业人士登录控制面板,查看自动化的回传数据时,对数据的准确性有信心,

企业进而更有信心来使用数据了解应用的表现。知晓应用的表现会实时更新,当有重大事件发生时,专业人士可更快地应对产生的变化。

如果推出更新后,由于技术问题造成用户流失,获取损坏报告回传的公司可以更早发现问题。同样地,应用开发者运行针对应用内购买的回传时可能会发现,在推送推广活动通知之后会有一波高峰,如需要可以立即根据信息采取行动。

使用回传时的注意事项

企业需要考虑何时触发回传。虽然可以针对几乎所有事件触发回传,但是对所有事件都请求回传会给公司带来两个潜在挑战:

  1. 对所有事件都请求回传会给内部服务器带来压力。这可能意味着,访问服务器的任何内容(包括应用程序本身)都可能受到回传流量的影响,进而降低性能。
  2. 对所有事件都请求回传可能会对分析造成负面影响。企业需要权衡,是分析所有内容还是寻找有助于流程的关键操作。

回传与 Adjust

Adjust 本身就是一个实时回传系统。我们的文档提供了有关回传的技术建议,以及有关如何选择值得进行自动回传的事件。以及如何有效将该数据添加至自定义分析报告的最佳实践。

The Adjust Mobile Measurement Glossary

Callback | Definition

What is a callback?

A callback (also known to some as a postback) is a ping made between one server and another. A callback can either occur manually or automatically and is triggered when a particular action or event is completed within an app.

Real-time callbacks are received as raw data using various placeholders, a set of dynamic macros created by Adjust. The availability of placeholders is determined by the relationship a company has with Adjust.

Why are callbacks important?

Callbacks are important for anyone using server-based technology to provide real-time reporting for business intelligence purposes. From a purely mechanical perspective, callbacks are the method by which data is pulled from a server to another. This means they are a necessity for anyone wishing to feed information into tools or dashboards attached to the server, such as a mobile analytics dashboard.

From a broader perspective, the presence of consistently triggered callbacks helps businesses to feel confident about the quality of their data. Rather than questioning whether figures are accurate, business professionals logging into dashboards benefitting from automated callbacks know with reasonable certainty that their data is accurate.

This has significant, additional effects on a business’s confidence in using data to inform performance. Knowing that this important data is being updated in real-time when significant actions occur, this allows developers to respond quickly to any necessary changes.

For example, if an update is pushed that causes users to churn due to a technical problem, a company running callbacks on crash reports could spot the challenges early, defusing the issue as soon as possible. In a more positive scenario, an app developer running callbacks on in-app purchase events might notice a spike after a push notification campaign, information them that this is a successful technique that could be implemented on a larger scale.

Considerations when talking about callbacks

Businesses need to consider when they want callbacks triggered. While it is possible to trigger callbacks on just about any event, requesting callbacks on everything presents companies with two potential challenges.

Firstly, requesting callbacks on everything will put internal servers under pressure. This could mean that anything accessing the server (including the app itself) could be affected by callback traffic, potentially slowing performance.

Secondly, requesting callbacks on everything might cloud successful analysis. Businesses need to weigh up whether analyzing everything or looking for specific actions will help their processes more. That being said, setting up callbacks for each stage of your user funnel is of great value to your retargeting analysis. This can help you see exactly where users lapse, and even inform you of how long it takes most uses to go from one step to the next.

Callbacks and Adjust

Adjust itself is a real-time callback system. Our documentation provides technical advice for working with callbacks, as well as best practices on how to select events worthy of automated callbacks and how to effectively add that data to custom analysis efforts. You can also find out our complete list of placeholders, here.