地理围栏

简介

通过地理围栏 (geofencing),移动营销人员可以划定虚拟的地理边界,针对特定地理区域中的潜在客户投放特定广告。地理围栏依靠 GPS (全球定位系统 ),RFID (射频识别)、WiFi 和蜂窝数据等技术打造 "虚拟栅栏",围出虚拟地理边界,一般围绕建筑物、城市小区或根据邮政编码架设。

地理围栏的原理是什么?

移动广告主必须先选好真实地点,然后围绕这个地点在启用 GPS 或 RFID 功能的软件中设置地理围栏。这样,设备在进入或离开围栏时就会触发事件,如电子邮件和短信发送、应用或媒体广告通知等。

需要注意的是,地理围栏仅适用于已授予推送通知和位置数据分享许可的用户。

根据移动设备、用户或其他用户的相对关系,我们可以将地理围栏的行动触发分为三类。请考虑使用 1 种以上的行动触发。

地理围栏行动触发类型

  1. 静态触发: 顾名思义,静态触发会根据移动设备相对固定区域的位置实现触发,常为零售商店所用,向许可用户发送优惠活动通知。
  2. 对等触发: 对等触发基于移动用户相对其他用户的位置。Facebook 和 Yelp 的签到通知采用的就是对等触发。
  3. 动态触发: 动态触发基于移动用户相对于变动数据流的位置。例如,在打车应用中,用户移动设备和空闲出租车的位置就在不断变化。出租车到达接客位置时,就会发生动态触发,而用户则可收到车已到位的通知。

地理围栏用途

从本质上来说,地理围栏的对象是基于位置的交互。借助地理围栏技术,移动应用营销人员可以针对本地人群定制广告,请求用户反馈,或分享相关信息。

例如,音乐厅可以通过自有应用,为到访的用户提供活动相关详情;百货商场可以向进门购物的客户发送推送通知,宣传当日优惠和特卖。

您可以非常轻松地监测地理围栏推广活动的表现和效果——这是地理围栏的一大优势。例如,如果客户在看到地理围栏推广后进入了店铺,您就可以监测客户购买情况、进店时长以及进店频率。

移动营销中的地理围栏应用技巧

从小做起

地理围栏的大小没有限制,不过一般以 4 - 5 个旅行半径为佳。如果超过这个范围,广告的相关性可能会下降。

信息透明

如果应用使用 GPS 跟踪服务,就应当在用户下载时清楚地向其说明情况。如果您能清晰阐述位置跟踪带来的优势,用户就更有可能授予跟踪许可。

再营销……还是再营销

再营销广告的点击率比展示型广告高 10 倍。您可以借鉴这一数字,在地理围栏移动营销策略中加以利用。例如,您可以向最近 2 周进入过地理围栏的用户提供优惠,用地理围栏再营销争取回头客。

Adjust 能帮助移动应用营销人员管理移动归因和推广活动优化,并保护用户隐私安全。无论您的移动营销策略中是否包含地理围栏广告,都能从我们的动态解决方案中获得优势,更快、更好地做出更明智的营销决策。欢迎联系我们,了解 Adjust 如何帮您推动应用增长。

想了解 Adjust 的最新消息?

What is mobile geofencing?

Glossary Geofencing

Introduction

Geofencing is a virtually-constructed radius used by mobile marketers to promote certain ads to potential customers within a specified geographic area. It uses technologies such as GPS, radio-frequency identification (RFID), WiFi, or cellular data to build a ‘virtual fence’ or geofence around the specified location. Geofences are typically placed around a building, city block, or zip code.

How does geofencing work?

The mobile advertisers must first select the real-world location and then set up the geofence around this area in GPS or RFID-enabled software. Then, an event can be triggered once a device enters or exits this location. These events can be an email, text, app, or media ad notification.

Note that geofencing will only work with users who’ve opted-in to receive push notifications and share location data.

There are three action trigger types for geofencing that vary in relation of a mobile device to a user or other users. Consider using one or more of these trigger types.

Geofencing’s action trigger types

  1. Static: As the name implies, static triggers are based on the position of a mobile device in relation to a fixed area. They are often used in retail stores to alert opted-in users of a promo.

  2. Peer-to-peer: Peer-to-peer triggers are determined by the position of a mobile user in relation to other users. When you use a check-in notification on Facebook or Yelp, this is a peer-to-peer trigger.

  3. Dynamic: Dynamic triggers are based on the relation of a mobile user to a changing data stream. Consider a taxi app in which both your mobile phone’s position and the position of an available taxi are constantly changing. When the driver arrives to your pick-up location, a dynamic trigger occurs, and you’ll receive a message saying the driver has arrived.

What is geofencing used for?

Ultimately, geofencing is used for location-based engagement. Mobile app marketers can tailor their advertisements to a local population, ask for feedback, or share relevant information.

For example, a concert venue can use its own app to provide its audience with event-related details once the user is in the venue. Or, a department store can send promotional push notifications advertising their deal of the day to customers entering the store.

A major benefit of geofencing is that it’s easy to measure the effectiveness of a geofencing campaign. For example, if clients are entering your store via geofencing promotions, then you can also measure their sales, how long they spend in your store, and how often they drop in.

Tips for geofencing mobile marketing

  • Don’t go too big

While you can create a geofence as big as you’d like, a good rule of thumb is to keep the geofencing radius within a four-to-five travel radius. If you make your geofence larger than this, it’s more likely your ad can lose relevancy.

  • Be transparent

If your app uses GPS tracking services, your users should be informed of this and know what to expect upon downloading your app. Users are more likely to opt-in if an app’s messaging explains the benefits of having their location tracked.

  • Retarget...and retarget

Retargeted ads boast a click-through rate that’s 10 times higher than display ads. Take this statistic and apply it to your geofencing mobile marketing strategy. For instance, offer a promotion to individuals who have been inside a geofence in the last two weeks. Bring back your customers with geofencing retargeting.

At Adjust, we help mobile app marketers manage mobile attribution, campaign optimization, and user privacy. Whether your mobile marketing strategy includes geofencing ads or not, we have a dynamic solution that will help you make better marketing decisions, faster. Let’s talk and see how we can help you drive app growth.

Want to get the latest from Adjust?