移动应用术语

IDFA

什么是 IDFA?

IDFA (广告主标识符) 是 Apple 向用户设备随机分配的设备标识符。广告主使用此标识符来跟踪数据,以便提供定制广告。

IDFA 不会泄露任何个人信息。相反地,它用于跟踪和识别用户,然后允许广告主访问可用于发现信息的聚合数据 — 例如触发的应用内事件。

如果渠道提供 IDFA 跟踪,同时广告主可以跟踪与广告成功互动的用户,那么 IDFA 就可以可以在用户与移动广告推广交互时辨识此类用户。如果满足上述条件,IDFA 可了解特定用户是否出于付款和归因目的而点击广告。

IDFA 为什么很重要?

IDFA 是广告跟踪 iOS 用户的准确方法。通过将每个设备分配为单独的 IDFA,广告主可以在每次推广活动中跟踪 IDFA,从而能进一步确定该用户质量,并确认用户是否因广告推广活动而进行安装。

IDFA 也为用户提供了可接受的隐私等级。这会对广告主产生额外的影响,但是 IDFA 对于用户数据的非个性化处理能确保数据保护工作的成效 — 防止广告主卷入数据隐私风波。

IDFA 与 Adjust

IDFA 是在 iOS 中跟踪广告推广活动的准确方法,但用户越来越多地选择不使用它。

Apple 为用户推出了表明自己不想被跟踪的选项。通过启用“限制广告跟踪 (LAT)”选项,用户信息将显示为空白,这样,定向广告就无法向此类用户显示。在这样的情况下,约 20% 的 iOS 用户都无法通过 IDFA 跟踪,因为 1/5 的用户已经启用了 LAT 选项。

Adjust 可跟踪同意公司访问其 IDFA 的用户及其关联数据。可使用 Adjust 的跟踪链接 URL 来跟踪 IDFA,从而帮助广告主划分其用户。Adjust 也为 Apple Search Ads 提供归因服务,该服务是在 iOS 中唯一提供的归因服务,并且仅针对启用了 IDFA 的用户。

此外,营销商可以使用 Adjust 的隐私见解来查看多少用户启用了 LAT。通过使用单向密钥管理哈希机制识别 LAT 使用状况,而不识别关于用户的任何信息,我们能帮助营销商发现限制跟踪的用户,以此全面地查看对其 iOS 应用受众产生的影响。

The Adjust
Mobile Measurement Glossary

Welcome to Adjust's Mobile Marketing Glossary, where you'll find everything you need to know for a successful mobile ad campaign, and beyond. New to Mobile Marketing, or trying to broaden your industry knowledge? We've defined everything from User Acquisition to Deep Linking to help you build your knowledge – get ready to learn and dive in!

IDFA

Definition

What is the Identifier for Advertisers?

The Identifier for Advertisers (known as the IDFA) is a random device identifier assigned by Apple to a user’s device. Advertisers use this identifier to track data so they can deliver customized advertising.

The IDFA reveals no personal information. Instead, it’s used for tracking and identifying a user, which then allows advertisers to access aggregated data which can be used to discover information – such as which in-app events they trigger.

The IDFA can also identify users when they interact with a mobile advertising campaign, provided the channel offers IDFA tracking and that the advertiser tracks users who interact with adverts successfully. If this occurs the IDFA can pickup whether specific users click an advert for payment and attribution purposes.


Why is the Identity for Advertiser important?

IDFAs are important to advertisers because they are an accurate means to track iOS users. By assigning a device to a single IDFA, advertisers who are able to track IDFAs within a campaign have much greater certainty about the defining qualities of that user and whether they installed due to an advertising campaign.

IDFAs also offer a welcome level of privacy for users. This can have a additional effects for advertisers, but the IDFAs depersonalization of user data ensures that it is on the right side of data protection efforts – preventing advertisers from becoming embroiled in data privacy problems.


Identity for Advertisers and Adjust

IDFAs are one of the most precise ways to track a mobile advertising campaign on iOS, but users are increasingly opting out of using it.

Apple introduced a way for users to show that they didn’t want to be tracked. By activating an option called ‘limit ad tracking’ (or LAT), user information would be shown as blank, and as such those users couldn’t be shown targeted ads. As it stands, roughly 20 percent of iOS users cannot be tracked using the IDFA, as 1/5th of users have enabled LAT.

Adjust can track users who do consent to companies accessing their IDFA and the associated data. IDFAs can be tracked using Adjust’s tracker URLs to help advertisers segment their users. Adjust also offers attribution services for Apple’s Search Ads, which exist exclusively on iOS and will only include users who have the IDFA activated.

Furthermore, marketers can use Adjust’s Privacy Insights to understand how many users have activated LAT. By using one-way cryptographic hashing to identify LAT usage without identifying anything about the user, we can help marketers to spot users who limit tracking so they can see its impact on the audience for their iOS app in full.

Related Resources

Become a better Mobile Marketer

Get a weekly E-mail with our latest posts on mobile marketing

By submitting this form, I confirm that I agree to the collection and processing of personal data by Adjust, as further described in the Privacy Policy.

Great - you're now subscribed!