每用户平均收入

ARPU 定义

ARPU 是英文 "average revenue per user" 的首字母缩写,意为每用户平均收入。简言之,ARPU 就是应用中的每位活跃用户在指定时间段中产生的平均收入。

每用户平均收入起初主要用于电讯行业,但如今在所有类型的数字商业中都有 ARPU 的身影,如 SaaS 服务、社交媒体网络和移动应用等等。

在移动营销领域,ARPU 与生命周期价值 (LTV) 类似,可用来计算和了解用户或特定用户群组的价值。不过,LTV 监测的是用户在整个生命周期中的价值,ARPU 监测的则是每位用户在特定时间段内产生的平均收入。

如何计算 ARPU

监测时间段 (周、月或年) 内的收入除以同一时间段内的用户数量,即可得出 ARPU。每用户平均收入 (ARPU) 通常按月计,以月度经常性收入 (MRR) 作为被除数。

每用户平均收入 (ARPU) = MRR / 活跃用户数量

另一个与 ARPU 紧密相关的指标是每付费用户平均收入 (ARPPU)。ARPPU 的计算方法与 ARPU 相同,但前者只看付费用户情况。如果应用采用的是免费增值模型,那么 ARPPU 就应当显著高于 ARPU。因而对于此类应用来说,区分和对比 ARPU 和 ARPPU 就尤为重要。

每用户平均收入 (ARPU) 的计算公式还有多种变体可供应用营销人员使用,以获得特定信息,例如 ARPDAU (每日活跃用户平均收入) 等。

ARPU 重要性何在?

每用户平均收入不仅是移动营销人员手中重要的用户获取指标,也是产品经理和主管人员不可或缺的业务指标。营销人员可以通过比较不同推广活动和广告渠道的每用户平均收入,洞察来自这些渠道用户的质量,了解广告支出回报。ARPU 与 LTV 搭配使用,也可有效计算用户获取成本的上限,保持正向的广告支出回报。此外,营销人员还可以利用 ARPU 计算达成特定收入目标需要获取的新用户数量。

通过计算每用户平均收入,应用开发者还能理解其客户群,并制定合理的定价策略。如果 ARPU 过低,可能说明应用过于注重产生较少收入的客户,或产品/服务的定价过低。开展定价测试,重点针对高收入用户开展营销活动,有助于提高 ARPU。

想了解 Adjust 的最新消息?

What is ARPU?

The definition of ARPU

ARPU is a metric that stands for average revenue per user. In short, it’s the average amount of revenue generated by each active user of your app over a given period of time.

While average revenue per user was originally primarily used in the telecom industry, it has become useful for all types of digital businesses, from SaaS providers to social media networks to mobile apps.

In a mobile marketing context, ARPU is similar to lifetime value (LTV). It’s a way to calculate or determine the value of your users, or of groups of users you’ve organised into segments. Whereas LTV measures the value of a user over their entire lifecycle, average revenue per user measures it over a set period of time.

How to calculate ARPU

ARPU is calculated by dividing your revenue by your number of users over the time period you want to measure, such as a week, month, or year. Average revenue per user is most commonly measured on a monthly level, using monthly recurring revenue (MRR) as an input.

average revenue per user (ARPU) = MRR / number of active users

Another metric closely related to ARPU is average revenue per paying user (ARPPU). This is calculated the same way as average revenue per user, but only includes paying users. For apps using a freemium monetization model, distinguishing between and comparing these two metrics is important, as in this case, an app’s ARPPU should be significantly higher than its ARPU.

App marketers can also utilize other variations of the average revenue per user (ARPU) formula to gain particular insights, such as ARPDAU (average revenue per daily active user).

Why is ARPU important?

Average revenue per user is an important user acquisition metric for mobile marketers, as well as an important business metric for product managers and executives. For marketers, comparing the average revenue per user of different campaigns and ad networks can provide insight into the quality of users from those sources, and help determine return on ad spend. ARPU, in conjunction with LTV, is also important for calculating the limit on user acquisition costs needed to maintain a positive return on ad spend. Marketers can also use ARPU to calculate how many new users need to be acquired in order to hit specific revenue targets.

Average revenue per user can also app developers understand their customer base and pricing strategy. If an app’s ARPU is too low, they may be focusing too much on low-revenue customers or underpricing their products and services. Running pricing experiments and focusing marketing efforts on high-revenue users can help raise ARPU.

Want to get the latest from Adjust?