投资回报率 (ROI)

移动应用术语 Return on investment (ROI)

ROI 定义

ROI 是英文 "Return On Investment" 的首字母缩写,意为 "投资回报率"。对于应用开发者来说,计算 ROI 是理解应用总体表现的重要一步。下面,我们就来仔细了解什么是 ROI,不同的 ROI 计算公式,以及如何精准监测应用 ROI。

三种 ROI 计算方法

投资回报率最主要的计算方法有 2 种,不过,我们还加入了第 3 种来帮助您评估应用的投资回报潜力。

方法 1: 净投资回报除以投资成本,得出的数字乘以 100%。

方法 2: 投资最终价值减投资最初价值,得出净投资回报,然后除以投资成本,得出的数字乘以 100%。

附加应用 ROI 计算方法:适合尚未发布应用,但想提前预估应用 ROI 的应用开发者。

  1. 计算 NPV 优势: 应用预估收入乘以预估生命周期,然后减去负债和股权支出,得出净现值 (NPV) 优势。
  2. 计算 NPV 成本: 维护成本乘以应用生命周期,加总研发成本,然后减去负债和股权支出,得出 NPV 成本。
  3. NPV 优势减成本: 最后,要计算应用 ROI, 用 NPV 优势除以 NPV 成本。

应用已经发布?欢迎查看我们的电子书《用收入验证提高 ROI 预测精准度》 ,了解如何改善 ROI 预测和用户再营销活动效果。

在监测应用 ROI 时需要考虑什么

移动应用开发者必须从一开始就明确业务目标和指标。在监测应用投资回报率时,您需要考虑下列关键因素。

确定成本

成本的评估与上方提到的应用 ROI 预估方法直接相关。在发布应用前,请计算未来应用需要的开发和营销支出,以及用户留存及客服支出。这样,您就能最好地分配资源。
*

设定 KPI

关键业绩指标 (KPI) 能指示移动应用的表现情况,可用来寻找应用需要优化的节点。您应当考虑使用能反映用户广告或应用内互动情况的 KPI,例如用户获取用户留存率等。

不过,每款应用的情况都不一样。应用可用的 KPI 有许多,但您的应用具体需要哪一种,就得看应用类别和具体业务需要。欢迎参阅所有应用类别都必须了解的关键业绩指标 (KPI)
*

计算 LTV

要计算用户生命周期价值 (LTV),请将平均每用户收入乘以用户生命周期价值。通过 LTV,您可以了解用户在使用应用时产生的价值。

LTV 是营销人员不可或缺的指标,能帮助您获知在保持盈利的前提下能在用户获取方面投入多少资金,并更好地优化收入流,如应用内广告、订阅和应用内购买等。
*

获得精准数据分析

通过移动监测平台 (MMP)获得唯一的真实数据来源,跟踪用户行为,划分用户群组,并优化营销推广活动。为什么?如果数据不精确,您的营销团队就无法做出成功的推广决策。

此外,您还要选择能从根源上抵御广告作弊的 MMP,确保归因数据 100% 精准。要了解更多信息,欢迎参阅博文 《您为何需要预防作弊?》,了解什么是移动应用作弊,掌握保护应用免受侵害的最佳方法。

Adjust 与 ROI

Adjust 移动营销平台深受全球众多应用营销人员青睐,能帮助营销人员做出明智的营销决策。通过 Adjust,您可以深入挖掘细分数据,根据投资回报比较各个渠道的表现。Adjust 还能为您提供用户层级的广告收入数据,帮助您清晰洞察 LTV。此外,我们还是市面上少有的能提供实时移动作弊保护功能的 MMP 之一,确保归因数据清洁无污染。

Adjust 高级数据分析服务能帮助营销人员精准掌握应用真实的投资回报率。想要了解 Adjust 如何为应用增长增添强劲动力?立即联系我们吧!

想了解 Adjust 的最新消息?

What is the return on investment for mobile apps?

Glossary Return on investment - ROI

The definition of ROI

ROI stands for return on investment. For app developers, calculating the ROI is an essential step to understanding the overall success of their efforts. Let’s dive into what  ROI is, the different ROI formulas for ROI calculation, and how you can ensure accuracy when measuring your app’s return on investment.

Three methods of ROI calculation

There are two main methods to determine the return on investment. However, we’ve also included a bonus method to help you assess your app’s potential Return on Investment.

Method 1: Divide the net return on investment by the investment cost and multiply this number by 100%.

Method 2: First, find the net return of investment by subtracting the initial value of investment from the final value of investment. Then, divide the answer by the cost of investment and multiply by 100%.

Bonus app ROI method: We’ve included this ROI definition for app developers who’ve yet to launch their app and wish to determine their app’s ROI.

  1. Calculate NPV advantages: Multiply your app’s potential revenue by its projected life span, and then subtract the cost of debt and equity from this number to get your net present value (NPV) advantages.
  2. Calculate NPV costs: Multiply the maintenance cost by the app’s life span, and add this to your total development costs. Then subtract the cost of debt and equity to get the NPV costs.
  3. Divide NPV advantages by costs: Finally, to calculate the ROI for your app, divide
    the NPV advantages by the NPV costs.

Have you already launched your app? Check out our ebook Improve your ROI forecasting with Purchase Verification to see how you can improve ROI forecasting and user retargeting efforts.

Considerations for measuring your app’s ROI

From the beginning, mobile app developers must be clear about their business goals and metrics. Below we’ve listed critical factors to consider when measuring your app’s return on investment.

  • Determine costs

    This point is directly related to the ROI app method mentioned above. Before launching, calculate how much you’ll need to spend on developing and marketing your app as well as retention and customer service costs. By doing so, you’ll know how best to allocate your resources.

  • Set your KPIs

    Key performance indicators (KPIs) show how your mobile app is performing and can be used to know where to optimize your app. Consider KPIs that reflect users’ interaction with an ad or within your app such as user acquisition or retention rate.

    However, every app is different. There are many KPIs apps use, but the ones fit for your app are determined by your app vertical and individual business needs. We’ve compiled a list of The must-know mobile app KPIs for every vertical.

  • Calculate LTV

    Determine a user’s lifetime value (LTV) by multiplying the average revenue per user by the customer lifetime value. LTV indicates how much a user is worth during the time they spend in your app.

    LTV is a must-have metric as it enables marketers to understand how much money they can spend on user acquisition while staying profitable. Using LTV, marketers can better optimize revenue streams such as in-app advertising, subscriptions, and in-app purchases.

  • Get accurate analytics

    Partner with a mobile measurement platform (MMP) for a single source of truth to track user behavior, segment users, and optimize your marketing campaigns. Why? If your data inputs aren’t accurate, your marketing team won’t be able to make successful campaign decisions.

    Ensure the MMP you select stops fraud at the source, so your attribution data is 100% accurate. For further information, read Why do you need fraud prevention? to learn what mobile app fraud is and how you can best protect your app from it.

Adjust and ROI

App marketers worldwide use Adjust’s mobile marketing platform to inform their marketing decisions. With Adjust, you can drill down into granular data to compare networks based on the performance of the essential costs. We’ll also provide you with user-level data for ad revenue, providing clarity on your LTV. Additionally, Adjust is one of the few MMPs on the market to offer real-time rejection of mobile fraud, ensuring your attribution data remains clean.

Ultimately, all of our advanced analytics empowers marketers to accurately determine their app’s true Return on Investment. If you’re ready to learn how Adjust can propel your app growth, let’s talk.

Want to get the latest from Adjust?