移动应用术语 Lifetime Value

移动应用术语

生命周期价值(LTV)

什么是生命周期价值(LTV)?

LTV 是对一段正在进行中的客户-产品关系所能产生净利润的预估。LTV 能对特定用户可能在应用上花费的金额作出持续评估,帮助营销人员制定营销预算,确保公司获取最有价值的用户。

如果一家公司能够成功预测用户的生命周期价值,也就能为营销人员在作出决策时提供更好的根据,推动广告支出达到最大效果。此术语又称客户生命周期价值(CLV 或 CLTV)及生命周期客户价值(LCV)。

如何计算 LTV?

计算 LTV 需要找到平均流失率和用户在特定时间段内的平均消费,以此来预测用户在应用中的全部消费。移动广告渠道 Tapdaq 创造了一个计算 LTV 的简单公式:LTV = ARPU x 1/流失率。

此公式通过预测用户在特定时间段内的消费金额(即 ARPU,每用户平均收入)及用户返回应用的概率(1/流失率)来计算生命周期价值。通过这个公式,您可以尝试预测一位用户在使用应用的全部时间内能产生多少价值。

为什么 LTV 比 ARPU 等其他指标更重要?

ARPU 等指标本身只能显示用户在一段时间内的价值。通过将 ARPU 和留存率相结合,LTV 能为营销人员建立一个大致的模型来预测用户未来的价值。这个指标能让营销人员看到那些长期内能带来高于平均收入的用户,提高他们获取高价值用户的概率。

例如,某个应用的每月 ARPU 为 5 美元。如果营销人员不再进一步计算,则会认为每次安装成本(或 CPI)最高只能达到 4.99 美元,不然就无法盈利,如此以来,用户获取的选择就被局限了。

然而,如果营销人员还能算出应用的流失率为 30%,那么就能知道用户的 LTV:这样一来,营销人员就会发现他们获取一位用户时最多可花费 16.65 美元。显然,用户获取的选择面更宽了。

计算 LTV 的最大挑战是什么?

计算 LTV 的最大挑战在于这是一个预测性的指标,不是固定不变的。本质上讲,LTV 会随着用户行为不断变化。这意味着,虽然上述公式建立了可以展示如何使用 LTV 的模型,但它还是太简单了,无法得出精确数据,实现移动营销目标。

例如,100 位应用用户中有 20 位在应用内留存了三个月,但在最后一个月,由于一次失败的应用更新,用户的 ARPU 突然发生变化。在这个例子中,用来计算用户营销成本的 LTV 过高,可能会改变未来的 LTV 值。大多数的 LTV 计算方法还包含一层额外的以预测为主的数据计算,这让 LTV 的计算过程更加复杂了。

LTV 计算的另外一个主要难点在于将该数值应用于个体用户。大多数应用通常能产生成千上万的用户,要基于每个用户的 LTV 制定个性化的营销预算非常困难。使用 LTV 的营销人员必须将自己的用户分成同期群,为特定行为人群设立整体 LTV,这样才能更好地将 LTV 应用于营销预算制定。

如何开始为应用准确计算 LTV?

要准确计算 LTV,需要三个步骤:

  1. 营销人员需要确保应用内数据分析能够准确评估用户带来的收入以及用户留存的时间。这意味着需要建立良好的跟踪和分析构架,保证所有产生应用的行为(如观看广告或进行应用内购买)都会被记录下来并关联至个体用户,同时也要保证尽可能精确地计算用户留存率。
  2. 营销人员需要将用户划分成同期群,建立一个灵活的用户 LTV 图景。
  3. 营销人员需要决定如何计算 LTV。现实局限(包括应用数据分析准确度)、可用资源等都会不可避免的限制营销人员的行动。

生命周期价值和 Adjust

在我们的控制面板同期群部分,您可以看到应用的 LTV。我们基于平均用户产生的总收入计算 LTV。在同期群中您可以看到同期群内全部用户的 LTV,还可以单独查看付费用户的生命周期价值。随着时间延长,您可以看到 LTV 的变化,最终还会显示您实现收支平衡并开始从用户身上盈利的时间点。

The Adjust Mobile Measurement Glossary

Lifetime Value (LTV) | Definition

What is lifetime value (LTV)?

LTV is a prediction of the net profit attributed to an ongoing relationship between customer and product. By providing a running estimate on how much a particular consumer is likely to spend on that app, LTV helps set marketing budgets and ensures that companies pursue the most effective users.

If a company can predict a user’s lifetime value successfully, it provides marketers with a much better base on which to make decisions – helping a company maximize the effectiveness of its advertising spending. The term itself is also known as customer lifetime value (CLV or CLTV) and lifetime customer value (LCV).

How is LTV calculated?

LTV is calculated by finding out the average churn and average spend of a user over the course of a specific period to predict their overall spend in an app. Tapdaq, a mobile advertising network, created a simple equation for calculating LTV: LTV = ARPU x 1/Churn

The formula calculates a user’s lifetime value by predicting how much money they’ll make in a set period (the ARPU, or Average Revenue Per User) and by how well they return (1/churn). With this formula, you can attempt to predict how much a user will be worth throughout their time spent on an application.

Why is LTV more important than other metrics, like ARPU?

By itself, a metric like ARPU only tells you how much a user is worth over a set amount of time. By combining it with retention, LTV gives a marketer a rough model that can be used to predict the user’s future value. This can show that a user delivers more value in the long-term than average revenue, which enables the marketer to increase the budget to their user acquisition campaigns, giving them a better chance of acquiring more valuable users.

For example, say an app has a monthly ARPU of $5. If the marketer stops calculating there, they will assume that their cost-per-impression (or CPI) could only reach $4.99 before spend stops being profitable – restricting acquisition options.

However, if the marketer is also able to calculate that their churn rate is 30%, they can find out their LTV: as a result, the marketer discovers that they can spend up to $16.65 on acquiring a user: significantly expanding their acquisition options.

What are the main challenges when it comes to calculating LTV?

The biggest challenge to calculating LTV is that it’s a forecasting metric, and not set in stone. Essentially, LTV shifts and changes as user behavior evolves. This means that the equation used above, while a useful model to show how LTV is used, is too simplistic to be used accurately for mobile marketing purposes.

As an example, say that 20 out of 100 app users retain for three months but their ARPU suddenly changes in the final month due to an unsuccessful app update. In this instance, the LTV used to calculate the cost of marketing to them was forecast as too high, and could change future LTV. Most LTV calculations contain an extra layer of mathematics focused on forecasting – making calculations more complicated.

The other major difficulty when it comes to calculating LTV is applying the value to individual users. As most apps are capable of generating a user base of thousands of people, personalizing marketing spend to each user’s LTV is challenging. Marketers using LTV must split their users into cohorts to establish an overall LTV for particular types of behavior, as this allows them to apply LTV to marketing spend much more successfully.

How can a marketer begin to calculate LTV accurately for their app?

There are three steps to accurately calculating LTV:

  1. The marketer needs to make sure that their in-app analytics correctly measure how much revenue users make over time, and how long they retain for. This means setting up a proper tracking and analytics infrastructure that ensures that all revenue generating actions (like watching an ad or purchasing an in-app purchase) are recorded and assigned to users, as well as making sure that user retention is being calculated as accurately as possible.

  2. The marketer needs to group users into cohorts to provide a flexible picture of user LTV.

  3. The marketer needs to decide how they will be calculating LTV. Practical constraints, including the accuracy of an app analytics setup, and the resource that can be committed to calculating it, will inevitably limit what a marketer can or can’t do.

Lifetime value and Adjust

Under our cohorts section within the dashboard you can find out your app’s LTV. We calculate LTV based on the total revenue generated by the average user. In cohorts you can find LTV calculated for all the users that belong to your cohorts and, separately, the lifetime value of paying users. Over time, you will see LTV change, and it will eventually show you your break-even: the moment when you start making a profit from your users.