移动应用术语

广告发行商

什么是广告发行商?

在移动营销生态系统中,广告发行商是指在其应用或移动站点,为广告主提供广告投放功能和广告位的实体。这意味着广告发行商可以是网站,也可以是应用。

简言之,广告发行商将其资产的一部分出售给买家 — 应用开发者(纯移动应用业务的公司)和代理(为广告主管理广告推广的公司)。

广告发行商和广告主有什么不同?

从广义上讲,广告主可能是一款应用(例如手机游戏或电子商务平台)或想向受众介绍相关信息的品牌。广告发行商是展示这种信息并且拥有(潜在的)大量观众的地方。

有的应用既是广告主又是广告发行商 — 如果应用既会运行自有广告,又会托管广告,则既是广告主又是广告发行商。

广告发行商和渠道有什么不同?

如果一个应用确定要开展广告推广活动,就必须与愿意向公众展示应用信息的广告主合作。不过,应用通常不会带着视频和横幅直接去找广告发行商:广告渠道需要介入此过程,将开发者和代理与广告发行商连接起来。广告发行商会与渠道签约,允许渠道使用其广告位展示广告。

移动营销商如何进行媒体买卖?

广告发行商通过展示广告赚取费用,收取费用通常取决于四种不同的定价模式。

  1. CPI(单次安装成本):这种购买和出售媒体的方式最为常见。如果应用想要增加安装量,则要为每次新安装支付费用。费用取决于应用和新用户的预估生命周期价值。渠道收取部分 CPI,为特定的广告推广活动寻找最佳广告发行商;广告发行商则收取 CPI 的其余部分。
  2. CPC(单次点击成本):此种模式下,广告主(依然是投放广告的应用)为每次广告点击付费。这种方式没有 CPI 推广活动那么受广告主欢迎,因为安装成本会随所有广告点击呈指数级增加。不过,这种方式对广告发行商而言尤为有利。
  3. CPA(单次操作成本):广告主在用户完成指定任务后为这些推广活动付费。指定任务可以是在应用上注册、完成游戏的第一个回合或订阅。基于操作的推广活动对于迫切希望看到投资回报的广告主很有用。4. CPM(每千次展示成本):此种情况下,“千次”是指广告得到 1000 次展示,或者有 2000 只眼球看过广告。如果推广活动是针对某个品牌,并且没有具体的行动号召(下载应用或订阅等),则通常采用 CPM。

什么是子广告发行商?

子广告发行商是指可以通过广告发行商为客户带去流量的第三方。如果广告主想要开展推广活动的广告发行商没有自己的流量源,这家广告发行商就会从别的广告发行商那里购买流量,后者就成为了“子广告发行商”。

广告发行商与 Adjust

Adjust 是广受全球业主信赖的移动归因商,助您确定推广活动是否成功,找出能给您带来最有价值用户的广告发行商。不论是由哪个广告发行商将用户发送到您的应用,Adjust 都不会重复计算这些用户。我们的控制面板可以为您汇总转化数据,甚至可以让您更容易地确定下次要合作的广告推广活动的广告发行商。如需详细了解 Adjust 的数百位合作伙伴,请点击此处

The Adjust
Mobile Measurement Glossary

Welcome to Adjust's Mobile Marketing Glossary, where you'll find everything you need to know for a successful mobile ad campaign, and beyond. New to Mobile Marketing, or trying to broaden your industry knowledge? We've defined everything from User Acquisition to Deep Linking to help you build your knowledge – get ready to learn and dive in!

Publisher

Definition

What is a Publisher?

In the mobile marketing ecosystem, a publisher is the entity that provides the capability and inventory that allows advertisers to run advertising in their apps or on mobile sites. This can mean a publisher can be a website or an app.

in a nutshell, publishers sell space on their property to the buyers – app developers (a company whose only business is mobile apps) and agencies (companies that manage ad campaigns for multiple advertisers).


What is the Difference Between a Publisher and an Advertiser?

Broadly, an advertiser might be an app (like a mobile game or an e-commerce platform) or a brand who have a message they want people to see. A publisher is a place to display that message, with (potentially) a large viewership.

Some apps are advertisers and publishers at the same time - if an app is running its own advertisements but is also hosting ads, it is simultaneously an advertiser and a publisher.


What is the Difference Between a Publisher and a Network?

When an app decides it wants to run an advertising campaign, it has to work with publishers that are willing to display the app’s message to the public. However, apps typically don’t head straight to the publisher with their video ads and banners - an ad network is what steps in and connects developers and agencies to the publisher. The publisher signs up to a network and allows the network to use their ‘inventory’ to advertise.


How Do Mobile Marketers Buy and Sell Media?

Publishers earn money by displaying ads, and cost is usually based on four different pricing models.

  1. CPI (cost per install): This is the most common way to buy or sell media. An app wanting to increase the amount of installs will pay a set amount of money for every new install. The cost can depend on the app and the estimated lifetime value of the new user. The network receives part of the CPI price for finding the best publishers for the specific ad campaign, and the publisher receives the rest.
  2. CPC (cost per click): In this model, the advertiser (again, the app doing the advertising) pays a price for every single ad click. These are not as popular with advertisers as CPI campaigns, as the cost of an install can increase exponentially with all of the ad clicks that happen. However, they are particularly advantageous for publishers.
  3. CPA (cost per action): These campaigns charge advertisers after the user completes a designated task. It could be signing up for the app, playing the first turn in a game, or buying a subscription. Action-based campaigns are useful for advertisers keen to see a return on their investment.
  4. CPM (cost per mille): In this case, a ‘mille’ (French for 1,000) refers to 1,000 impressions, or 2,000 eyeballs that have seen your ad. If a campaign is, for example, geared towards a brand and there is no specific call to action (to download an app or subscribe, etc), it is typical to use this model.

What are sub-publishers?

Sub-publishers are a third party that can deliver traffic for clients, through publishers. If a publisher doesn't own their own traffic sources which an advertiser wants to run campaigns on, then they can buy traffic from other publishers, who then become 'sub-publishers'.

Publishers and Adjust

Working with a trusted mobile attribution provider like Adjust helps you determine the success of your campaigns and find out which publishers deliver your highest-value users. Adjust will never count a user twice, no matter which publisher sends them into your app. Our dashboard gives you a home to aggregate your conversion data, making it even easier to decide which publishers you’d like to run your next ad campaign with. To find out more about the hundreds of partners Adjust works with, read more here.

Related Resources

Become a better Mobile Marketer

Get a weekly E-mail with our latest posts on mobile marketing

Great - you're now subscribed!