移动应用术语 SKAdNetwork

移动应用术语

相关术语

SKAdNetwork | 定义

什么是 SKAdNetwork?

随着 iOS 14 的发布,Apple 推出了两个新的归因和广告监测框架。

第一个是 ATT (AppTrackingTransparency) 框架。在该框架下,要想访问用户的 IDFA,必须先取得用户的许可。

第二个是 Apple 在 2018 年推出的 SKAdNetwork。这是一种不同的推广活动监测方法,在 SKA 框架中,用户层级的数据不可用。随着 iOS 14 的推出,SKAdNetwork 框架将进行版本更新。Apple 这样做的目的是希望能减轻由于限制开发者的 IDFA 访问权限而造成的影响。

SKAdNetwork 的重要性何在?

SKAdNetwork 是接收 iOS 端营销推广活动归因数据的另一种方法。广告渠道必须向 Apple 注册,而开发者也要保证自己的应用与注册渠道及新框架兼容。但是,SKAdNetwork 会对移动营销人员当前的移动监测方式带来不少挑战。

SKAdNetwork 会为移动监测带来哪些挑战?

  • 按照当前的计划,SKAdNetwork 会提供长度为 6 比特的下游指标,且有 24 小时的时间限制。每次用户触发应用内事件,该 6 比特指标就会发生变化,成为应用指定的全新 6 比特事件识别码,而时间限制也会延长 24 小时。事件窗口过期后,第二个 24 小时归因窗口就会开始计时。SKAdNetwork 会在这 24 小时窗口内随机返回归因数据。SKAdNetwork 系统分享的数据都采取聚合形式,不提供用户层级上的精细数据。
  • 事件识别码只能向上叠进。例如,用户在游戏内达成了等级 1,应用为 "等级 1" 创建的事件识别码为 000001;然后用户购买了游戏内货币,这一事件的识别码为 000011。如果用户随后达成了 "等级 2",比特值不会变为 000010,因为变化是单向的。要避免这个问题,开发者需要为排列组合中所有的可能性分配不同的比特值,而不是为每种事件分配比特值。SKAdNetwork 跟踪的数据无法与 MMP SDK 跟踪的应用内事件精细数据关联起来。
  • SKAdNetwork 框架下每个渠道仅显示 100 个不同的推广活动。乍一看上去,您或许觉得这并不是什么大问题,因为 Adjust 客户平均在每个渠道只开展 15 个推广活动。但这些推广活动之下,常常还有针对不同地区、设备类型或素材的无数子级推广活动。例如,如果您通过 SKAdNetwork 为五个不同的国家 / 地区使用十种不同的素材,那么在每个渠道就只能开展两个不同的推广活动。

SKAdNetwork 还会有 (最少) 24 至 48 小时的数据延迟,导致即时推广活动优化受阻,因此开发者和营销人员还要做出其他改变,才能妥善应对。此外,防广告欺诈领域也会发生变化。上文提到的事件转化值没有加密签名,也就是说,应用开发者无法使用现有的方法对事件进行验证,这给欺诈者留下了可乘之机。

当前,SKAdNetwork 不支持深度链接 (延迟和条件深度链接均不支持) 和展示归因,且除了下载以外,不会将其他任何活动视为可归因活动。

要满足当今营销人员的需要,SKAdNetwork 当前的功能还需要升级,但对于想要使用 SKAdNetwork 的客户,我们也会提供全方位支持。

Glossary SKAdNetwork

The Adjust Mobile Measurement Glossary

Related terms

SKAdNetwork | Definition

What Is SKAdNetwork?

Starting with iOS 14, Apple has introduced two new frameworks for attribution and ad measurement.

First, Apple introduced the ATT (AppTrackingTransparency) framework, which manages access to the IDFA by requiring user consent.

Apple introduced the SKAdNetwork in 2018, a different approach to campaign measurement where data at the user level is not available. With iOS 14 the SKAdNetwork framework will be updated to version two — as Apple attempts to ameliorate some of the impact of reducing developers’ access to the IDFA.

Why is SKAdNetwork important?

SKAdNetwork is another way to receive the attribution of advertising campaigns on iOS. Advertising networks must register with Apple, and developers must work to ensure that their apps are compatible with the registered networks and the new framework. However, SKAdNetwork poses some challenges for the methods mobile marketers currently use.

What are the measurement challenges of SKAdNetwork?

  • As currently proposed, the SKAdNetwork provides 6-bits of downstream metrics with a first 24 hour timer. These six bits can change every time an event is triggered in-app, to a fresh six-bit event code defined within the app, extending the window by a further 24 hours. Once this event-window expires, a second 24 hour timer for attribution starts counting down. Within this 24 hour window, randomly, the SKAdNetwork returns the attribution data. The SKAdNetwork system shares this data in the aggregate, with no granular data accessible at the user level.
  • The event codes can only progress upward. For example, if an app creates an event code for ‘Level One’ that reads 000001, then the user buys in-game currency, which is assigned a different value of 000011, and if this user later completes ‘Level Two’, the bits cannot be changed to 000010, since changes in only one direction are allowed. To avoid this, developers need to assign a bit value to each path or combination of possibilities, rather than to any individual event. The data tracked with SKAdNetwork and the granular, in-app events tracked by MMP-SDKs cannot be linked.
  • SKAdNetwork is limited to 100 different campaigns per network. This may appear to be sufficient at first glance, as the average Adjust client runs 15 campaigns per network. However, there are often countless sub-campaigns for different geographies, device types or creatives. With SKAdNetwork, for example, the use of ten creatives in five countries would only allow two different campaigns per network.

SKAdNetwork will require other changes for developers and marketers, since data delay of 24-48 hours (minimum) can hinder real-time optimization. Another shift will be in the area of ad fraud. The event conversion values mentioned earlier are unsigned, meaning that app developers will not be able to verify whether the event took place in the way that they are used to, opening the door for fraud.

SKAdNetwork does not currently support deep linking (deferred or conditional), view-through attribution and does not consider anything but the act of downloading as attributable.

While SKAdNetwork’s current capabilities will need to evolve if it’s to suit the needs of today’s marketers, we will of course fully support its implementation for clients looking to use it.